Adding subtitles only?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
jqdunn
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:47 am

Adding subtitles only?

Post by jqdunn » Fri Sep 02, 2016 3:50 am

Hello.
I was wondering if anyone knows if Handbrake can add subtitles to a video file without having to convert the entire video again. The video format is fine, I just want to softcode the srt into the actual file itself.

Anyone know if this possible??

Thank you. :D

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9462
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Adding subtitles only?

Post by s55 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 7:25 am

Fraid not

kpflugshaupt
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:00 pm

Re: Adding subtitles only?

Post by kpflugshaupt » Fri Sep 02, 2016 8:55 am

jqdunn wrote:Hello.
I was wondering if anyone knows if Handbrake can add subtitles to a video file without having to convert the entire video again. The video format is fine, I just want to softcode the srt into the actual file itself.

Anyone know if this possible??

Thank you. :D
Hello,

you need a remuxing tool for this. On Mac, I use Subler or MKVToolnix, depending on container type (mp4 vs. mkv).
On Windows, MP4Box has been mentioned in this forum, but I do not know it. MKVToolnix exists for Windows, too.

Kaspar

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3116
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Adding subtitles only?

Post by Woodstock » Fri Sep 02, 2016 1:48 pm

mkvtoolnix does exist for Windows, and for Linux as well.

Check your playback software, though - some do not support SRT particularly well. I've been finding that it is better to have handbrake burn the subtitles into the video if all I have is an SRT file.

If the subtitles are in SSA/ASS format, I found letting handbrake burn them in is MUCH better, because my hardware players get mightily confused by all the font changes and even translator comments embedded in SSA format.

Post Reply