HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

General discussion of HandBrake - not for tech support
Forum rules
Activity Log is required for support requests. See Must Read: How To Get Questions Answered on These Forums for details
Post Reply
User avatar
HandBrake
Moderator
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:40 pm

HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by HandBrake » Fri Jan 22, 2016 11:28 pm

Discussion thread for the 0.10.3 release.

Release Announcement

nhyone
Bright Spark User
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2015 4:13 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by nhyone » Sat Jan 23, 2016 2:08 am

Updated x265 to 1.8 which brings numerous bug fixes and some performance improvements.
This is great! I've compared 1.5 vs 1.8 for all presets and they are 30-50% faster on a Ivy Bridge CPU and use slightly less bitrate (in most cases), presumably with the same quality, although I did not check that. (The underlying settings remain identical, if I'm not wrong.)

It should be even faster on a Haswell and later CPU, due to AVX2.

x265 1.9 would be even faster because they introduced the limit-refs.

But x265 is still pretty slow. Preset medium is like x264's veryslow.

dark4181
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:05 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by dark4181 » Sun Jan 24, 2016 2:47 am

Nice. Here's hoping that x265 10-bit will be enabled in 1.0 though

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5018
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by JohnAStebbins » Sun Jan 24, 2016 5:32 pm

dark4181 wrote:Nice. Here's hoping that x265 10-bit will be enabled in 1.0 though
As I've said a number of times already. HandBrake does not and will not ship if the 10 bit x265 library. It will be up to you to find and install this. If installed correctly, HandBrake will dynamically load it. On linux systems, it is easy as all repositories appear to be distributing all versions of the library. But I don't know what the situation is for windows and osx.

Alfredo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:54 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by Alfredo » Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:51 am

Is it intended that 0.10.3 does not compile on mac osx 10.9.5 with xcode Version 6.2 (6C131e)?

The previous 0.10.2 makes no trouble... Any advice how to fix this?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11668
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by Rodeo » Tue Jan 26, 2016 7:55 am

Possibly. This is the kind of stuff best discussed on IRC (#handbrake), IMO.

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 932
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by Ritsuka » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:03 am

You need Xcode 7 to compile the HandBrake Mac gui. If you want just the cli you should be able to compile it in Terminal if you pass the option to disable Xcode to the configure script.

Alfredo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:54 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by Alfredo » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:38 am

Thanks for the advice... The resulting Handbrake GUI can run on osx 10.7 upwards but can not compiled on osx prior 10.10 ?!

I think that is a bit more conservative Prerequisites would be better...

dark4181
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:05 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by dark4181 » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:38 am

JohnAStebbins wrote:
dark4181 wrote:Nice. Here's hoping that x265 10-bit will be enabled in 1.0 though
As I've said a number of times already. HandBrake does not and will not ship if the 10 bit x265 library. It will be up to you to find and install this. If installed correctly, HandBrake will dynamically load it. On linux systems, it is easy as all repositories appear to be distributing all versions of the library. But I don't know what the situation is for windows and osx.
I don't run Linux, sadly. I'm a Windows user, so I guess I'm out of luck.

ashleylai87
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 3:54 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by ashleylai87 » Thu Jan 28, 2016 5:54 am

Fast and quick question.
Where can one get this VCE build? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rI4fzMDDxYg

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 8812
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by s55 » Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:33 am

There are no public builds at the moment. It'll hit the nightly builds sometime in the future. No date yet though.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5018
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by JohnAStebbins » Thu Jan 28, 2016 4:04 pm

dark4181 wrote:
JohnAStebbins wrote:
dark4181 wrote:Nice. Here's hoping that x265 10-bit will be enabled in 1.0 though
As I've said a number of times already. HandBrake does not and will not ship if the 10 bit x265 library. It will be up to you to find and install this. If installed correctly, HandBrake will dynamically load it. On linux systems, it is easy as all repositories appear to be distributing all versions of the library. But I don't know what the situation is for windows and osx.
I don't run Linux, sadly. I'm a Windows user, so I guess I'm out of luck.
No, you are not out of luck. You just have to find a windows build of the x265 libraries. There are people who provide them, just not us. Scan the doom9 forum thread for x265 development http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168814

Jason_X_
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:32 am

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by Jason_X_ » Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:40 am

s55 wrote:There are no public builds at the moment. It'll hit the nightly builds sometime in the future. No date yet though.
It isn't even in the main repo yet?

I do see this pull request https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/pull/88, is this what the delay is about?

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 8812
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: HandBrake 0.10.3 Discussion Thread

Post by s55 » Tue Feb 16, 2016 6:52 pm

It's not in the main repo yet. It's not even an accepted patch yet. We havn't even formally announced it as a feature. AMD's marketing guru's jumped the gun a bit there.

The patch is not ready yet and won't be accepted until it is. The PR is just there for folk to comment on right now.

These things take Time. QSV was probably over a year after Intel's first announcement before it was ready for prime time for example. This patch is simpler so hopefully will be quicker but there is no schedule. People work on things in their free time and we are still waiting from feedback from them regarding some issues.

Post Reply