Page 1 of 1

Re-encode audio only

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 3:27 pm
by DigitalFool
So I have about 50 MKVs from my library that I did DTS audio (forward thinking so I thought), but now finding out Sonos does not support DTS. I'd like to just re-encode the audio to AC3 instead of redoing each disk. I want to avoid messing with video quality (I run them at 20CQ) and just do the audio in batch. Is there an easy way to do this in Handbrake? Or maybe just run them through at like 16CQ? I'm not sure...

Re: Re-encode audio only

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 4:20 pm
by Woodstock
No way to run through Handbrake without video encoding, and no, video pass-through is NOT on the "future features" list.

ffmpeg can do it, but you'll have to work with the command line.

Re: Re-encode audio only

Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 5:47 pm
by HandyMan
In handbrake, you encode with Ultra-Fast setting, crf=51, this will give you AC3 audio. As long as there is not problem encoding (audio sync warning), you could take that audio and mux it with the original video.
You use mkvmerge to take the video and subtitles from the old encode, take the AC3 audio from Handbrake and you remux it.