Mpeg2 to h.265 Settings

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Kensei

Mpeg2 to h.265 Settings

Post by Kensei »

Hi,

I recently discovered Handbrake, and I'm very pleased with it. I'm a beginner in this area, and enjoy the simplicity.

I have MPEG2 files on my computer that I want to compress, but without loosing picture quality.

File source is as follow :
Size ~5 GB, Length ~ 55 minutes
Video: MPEG2 Video 1920x1080 29.97fps [V: mpeg2 main, yuv420p, 1920x1080]
Video
ID : 33 (0x21)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : MPEG Video
Format version : Version 2
Format profile : Main@High
Format settings, BVOP : Yes
Format settings, Matrix : Custom
Format settings, GOP : M=3, N=15
Codec ID : 2
Duration : 55mn 47s
Bit rate mode : Variable
Bit rate : 11.2 Mbps
Maximum bit rate : 24.0 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 29.970 fps
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
Bit depth : 8 bits
Compression mode : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.180
Time code of first frame : 00:00:00;00
Time code source : Group of pictures header
Stream size : 4.37 GiB (92%)
Audio does not matter, I will use the pathru option.

I first used the setup below :
Picture :
* Anamorphic : Strict (I want to keep source size)

Filters :
* Detelecine : Off (To keep framerate)
* Decomb : Deinterlace - Bob
* Denoise : Off
Deblock : Off

Video :
Video
Codec : H.265 (x265)
Framerate : Same as source / Constant

Optimise video
x265 preset : Very Fast
x265 tune : None
h.265 profile : Main
Extra options : none

Quality
Avg bitrate : 2500 Kbps - 2 pass encoding

-> I am not very fond of the result. The picture is a bit more coarser (blurred). Suspect the Deinterlace is responsible, but I'm not sure. I can provide some pictures.

Do you think if I set Decomb to Decomb - default I will have a better result ? Yadif seems good when I enable it on Media Player Classic. Is it better ?