AppleTV Preset 30fps

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
Vietwoojagig
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:38 am

AppleTV Preset 30fps

Post by Vietwoojagig » Wed Jul 02, 2014 2:43 pm

Hi,

why is in the preset of AppleTV 1/2/3 the initial frame rate set to 30fps and not to auto?
I usually have 25fps or 50fps and I always have to change it.

Another question regarding frame rate:
In Germany we have 720p/50 for the public-sector broadcaster.
But if fact most of the content is 25fps with every frame two times.

So always have to choose 25fps manually. Do you have an idea how this could be covered by the auto-setting (e.g. 25/30 instead of 50/60)?

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5424
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: AppleTV Preset 30fps

Post by JohnAStebbins » Wed Jul 02, 2014 3:43 pm

It is set to 30fps *peak frame rate*. Peak frame rate *is* auto with a cap. The reason there is a cap is the AppleTV does not support higher framerates than 30fps at 960x720. If your video is lower resolution, you can do higher framerates. But the preset has to be safe for all resolutions.

Vietwoojagig
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:38 am

Re: AppleTV Preset 30fps

Post by Vietwoojagig » Wed Jul 02, 2014 7:01 pm

Unfortunately 30fps peak frame rate makes out of 720p/50 a 720p/30 and not 720p/25.
Maybe it would be better try frame rate / 2, frame rate /3, frame rate / 4 ... until it falls below the peak frame rate.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12143
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: AppleTV Preset 30fps

Post by Rodeo » Thu Jul 03, 2014 1:06 pm

JohnAStebbins wrote:It is set to 30fps *peak frame rate*. Peak frame rate *is* auto with a cap. The reason there is a cap is the AppleTV does not support higher framerates than 30fps at 960x720. If your video is lower resolution, you can do higher framerates. But the preset has to be safe for all resolutions.
Actually, no. 30 fps is the official maximum regardless of resolution; higher framerates might work but there's always a chance the ATV will refuse to play it at all. If your source fps is lower, e.g. 25 fps or less, then you can go with a higher maximum resolution of 1280x720.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5424
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: AppleTV Preset 30fps

Post by JohnAStebbins » Thu Jul 03, 2014 2:06 pm

Vietwoojagig wrote:Unfortunately 30fps peak frame rate makes out of 720p/50 a 720p/30 and not 720p/25.
Maybe it would be better try frame rate / 2, frame rate /3, frame rate / 4 ... until it falls below the peak frame rate.
The output will have 30fps written to the header, but the timestamps for the individual frames will be exactly the same as the source video and the output should play at exactly the same rate. The only exception would be if your source video framerate were above every 30fps.

That said, it would be an improvement to look at the original source framerate and write that to the header instead if it is not greater than the 30fps cap. But this header information is only informational and does not affect playback unless you have a seriously stupid player.

Vietwoojagig
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:38 am

Re: AppleTV Preset 30fps

Post by Vietwoojagig » Sat Jul 05, 2014 10:37 pm

Surely it will play, but 30fps from a 50fps which was actually a 25fps with each frame doubled results in a 30fps with every 5th frame doubled.
I would prefer a 25fps with nothing doubled.

Post Reply