Playback of Files

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
RaySmith

Playback of Files

Post by RaySmith »

I am new to Handbrake, not a techie and your "Must read to get questions answered ....... scared the life out of me but here goes.

I wanted software that would let me rip DVD's onto my Seagate GoFlex drive so I could play them back when I travel.

I tried convering a DVD but could only convert to MP4, which my media player - Windows - does not support.

I then tried setting the "Output Settings" to ipad and tried again but my Ipad 3 did not recognise the m4v file produced.

Help Please

Ray Smith
Deleted User 13735

Re: Playback of Files

Post by Deleted User 13735 »

You must have an old system?
The mp4 codec for Windows Media Player is a free download.
Smithcraft
Veteran User

Post by Smithcraft »

Please be so kind as to post a log for an mp4 that WMP won't play, and for a m4v that the iPad will not recognize.

SC
RaySmith

Post by RaySmith »

Please tell me how I attach a log file to my reply - nothing in the FAQ's on this. The logs are very long so I assumed that you did not want me just to paste them into my response?
mduell
Veteran User

Post by mduell »

RaySmith wrote:Please tell me how I attach a log file to my reply - nothing in the FAQ's on this. The logs are very long so I assumed that you did not want me just to paste them into my response?
Paste them into your response between tags.
RaySmith

Re: Playback of Files - wihout log

Post by RaySmith »

Sorry I am obviously too dim for this site I looked up the instructions for sending a log and noted your advice about but cannot understand what you mean does the code go into the brackets or between the brackets. I tried it without the majic [] but it did not send, I will try again: