Creating DD AC3?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
Sy808
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2012 7:41 pm

Creating DD AC3?

Post by Sy808 »

I'm trying to rip a BluRay to a file I can add to my iTunes collection but I'm having problems with the audio. The BR doesn't have a 5.1 AC3 track in english. It does have a 5.1 DTS, 5.1 DTS-HD MA, 2.0 AC3 tracks. Is it possible to downmix one of the 5.1 DTS tracks to and AC3 track that will work with iTunes and my AppleTV's? If so, what settings do I use? Source: DTS-HD MA? Codec: AC3 (ffmpeg)? Mixdown: Dolby Surround? Bitrate: 640?

Just now starting to rip my BluRays... This was much easier with DVD's as I could just passthrough the AC3 tracks..... Thanks for any help.
mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 7180
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Creating DD AC3?

Post by mduell »

Use the 5.1 DTS as source and output AC3 (ffmpeg), 6ch, 640kbps
rcrh
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:49 am

Re: Creating DD AC3?

Post by rcrh »

mduell wrote:Use the 5.1 DTS as source and output AC3 (ffmpeg), 6ch, 640kbps
Why use the "6 channel discrete" instead of "dolby surround"?

Thanks.
TedJ
Veteran User
Posts: 5388
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2008 11:25 pm

Re: Creating DD AC3?

Post by TedJ »

Because Dolby Surround is a method of carrying a surround mix on a stereo soundtrack and isn't the same as Dolby Digital.
Post Reply