Sony Copy Protection.

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Sony Copy Protection.

Post by baggss »

It's not just HB, it's some hardware too...

http://sonystrikesagain.wordpress.com/

User avatar
suborbit
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:37 pm

Post by suborbit »

Fantastic - I was watching Casino Royale on my 5 - 6 year old Sony DVD player and could've sworn the sound levels kept jumping all over the place. At the time, I had all sorts of trouble trying to rip it (yes, yes, zero cell DVD - the things I've learned) and wondered if the sound issues on the regular DVD player could've been related. Well, at least I know something's messed up with the new, improved copy protection.

Thanks for giving me motivation to continue my dvd rip/encode/burn education Sony.

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda »

re: Sony Tech: We know about this problem. Its our new copy protection that’s making these discs unplayable in some players including our own, we do not intend to change the copy protection.

Oh come now. Sony'll ditch it in a heartbeat once enough people take the only action that really matters: return the damn disks for a refund. Breach of contract on their part if you ask me.

TheBum
Regular User
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:03 am

Post by TheBum »

You would've thought they had learned a lesson from the audio CD copy protection rootkit debacle, but apparently not. Sony used to be such a good company (albeit still a little hung up on proprietary technology) until they got into the movie business.

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda »

Update: they will replace the disks with modified versions. No word yet on whether they rolled back to an older version of ARccOS or patched the current. http://www.videobusiness.com/article/CA6434584.html

tubbyman
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:39 am

Post by tubbyman »

I had some measured success with the new Sony DRM on macppc. It has worked with all but 1 DVD ("Rock Balboa", I think).

Set DVD player to open on DVD insertion.

Insert the DVD. Leave it alone for 10 minutes. You will hear all kinds of thrashing sounds coming from your DVD drive.

When the thrashing stops, play the DVD with DVD Player until it gets to the main title.

Quit DVD Player.

Rip the DVD with MacTheRipper.

Run handbrake over the VIDEO_TS folder.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss »

I simply used MTR 3 r14d on Rocky Balboa and had no problem. The DVD played fine on my Mac.

Nonsanity
Moderator
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:34 am

Post by Nonsanity »

For all the foot-shooting Sony is doing, I happily backed up my discs in the usual way and never noticed a thing.

Really, if they have their heart set on shooting themselves in the foot, they really should get something for their trouble... Like actually preventing copies from being made, or something.

Sony hasn't done the math about DRM: They may have 20 programmers working on creating new copy prevention schemes who have a limited amount of time to finish (the upper limit being when the go ahead and release the scheme to the world), but once released, there may be hundreds or thousands of programmers working to get around the copy prevention, and they have from now till the end of eternity to do it.

YOU do the math. (Sony isn't.)

loyalty_anchored
Bright Spark User
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:49 pm

Post by loyalty_anchored »

i can see the following scenario caused by sony's new copyright protection scheme:

1- i go out, bye the DVD movie with the money i worked hard for.
2- i come home and put the movie in my DVD player that i paid with the money i worked hard for.
3- i press play, and it doesnt work.
4- i get [Censored] and do some research.
5- i download MTR, AnyDVD or any other ripping software that is up to date on sony's silly copy protection.
6- i rip the copy protection out of the DVD and put it on my hard drive.
7- i compress the DVD if its too big and then burn the movie to a DVDR.
8- now i can watch my movie and im happy :-)

had sony not been stupid about this whole deal, i could have stopped at step 3.

:roll:

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda »

You forgot Step 9, Return intentionally crippled DVD to store due to breach of contract. (not that I'd want to go toe-to-toe with Sony's lawyers, but there it is.)

Really, the only message that will filter back to Sony is the one that hits them in the pocketbook directly.

And I'm not advocating anyone buy or rent, rip and burn and return as a practice --- but when the industry has this level of contempt for its userbase I don't shed many tears. Besides, it takes me time, effort and money to fix their product.

sheckylovejoy
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 3:05 am

Post by sheckylovejoy »

Rocky went down with MTR 3.0 14 (PMac G5 Quad)

Casino Royale would not rip on any of 4 PPC Macs (different failures on each), but was successful with RipIt4Me on Windows.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss »

Casino Royal worked fine for me with MTR 3 r14d.....

loyalty_anchored
Bright Spark User
Posts: 183
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 1:49 pm

Post by loyalty_anchored »

sheckylovejoy wrote:Rocky went down with MTR 3.0 14 (PMac G5 Quad)
went down ? :?

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda »

It's a pun. "Rocky Balboa" is a fighter ... fighters go down when knocked out etc. ...

sheckylovejoy, I too was able to successfully rip Casino Royale with MTR 3.0d r14. Has Ripguard+ARccOS but as I recall the coupé de grace is the inclusion of fake .vobs or fake .ifo files.

MTR's Main Feature Extraction in particular has been tweaked to get around these, whereas Full Disk Extraction has not.

Post Reply