Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

General questions or discussion about HandBrake, Video and/or audio transcoding, trends etc.
Post Reply
kdantas
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 5:03 pm

Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by kdantas » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:37 pm

Description of problem or question:

Is it possible to select Constant Quality at decimal intervals in Handbrake Windows GUI? Or even using x264 Encoder Options?
i.e.: 21.1, 21.2, 21.3, 21.4, 21.5, 21.6, 21.7, 21.8, 21.9, ...


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):

Handbrake Windows GUI Settings


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.1.2 (2018090500) - 64bit


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Windows 10 Pro


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5214
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by JohnAStebbins » Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:39 pm

Quality slider granularity can be modified in preferences

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6146
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by mduell » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:44 pm

What is the use case for this?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2876
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by rollin_eng » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:51 pm

mduell wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:44 pm
What is the use case for this?
To get finer control over CQ setting.

kdantas
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2015 5:03 pm

Re: Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by kdantas » Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:43 am

JohnAStebbins wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 5:39 pm
Quality slider granularity can be modified in preferences
Thank you so much. At least 0.25 intervals.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6146
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by mduell » Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:28 pm

rollin_eng wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:51 pm
mduell wrote:
Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:44 pm
What is the use case for this?
To get finer control over CQ setting.
I understand the mechanical intent, but what is the actual utility of this?

Do people really look at RF 23.25 and RF 23.5 and say yes, this one is usefully better than that one?

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11946
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake GUI - How to Select Constant Quality at Decimal Intervals?

Post by Rodeo » Fri Nov 09, 2018 6:43 am

I do use half-points myself TBH. And for very grainy full HD sources sometimes a half-point difference is like up to 10% bitrate difference.

Post Reply