NO AUDIO?... Read Here! (Summary in First Post) **UPDATED**

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Locked
petvas
Regular User
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:00 am

Post by petvas »

Handbrake just finished encoding Mission Impossible III from the Hard Drive...No sound...
Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious »

petvas wrote:Handbrake just finished encoding Mission Impossible III from the Hard Drive...No sound...
I sorry, but your in a different class altogether. If it takes you THAT long to process (encode) a movie from your Harddrive, you have other BIGGER issues.

I'll do Mi3 now and see wat I get...
petvas
Regular User
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:00 am

Post by petvas »

Cavalicious wrote:
petvas wrote:Handbrake just finished encoding Mission Impossible III from the Hard Drive...No sound...
I sorry, but your in a different class altogether. If it takes you THAT long to process (encode) a movie from your Harddrive, you have other BIGGER issues.

I'll do Mi3 now and see wat I get...
If I rip and encode with HB it works in 2 hours...

I have tried with other ripped DVDs to encode from the Harddrive and it worked pretty fast (2 hours). It seems to be a very curious issue that we are dealing up here...It has nothing to do with my system's performance...only with Handbrake.
I will try ripping Mission Impossible completely (not only main feature) and post my results.
nightstrm
Veteran User
Posts: 1887
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:43 am

Post by nightstrm »

Tonight, I was finally able to get an episode of The X-Files (Season 2) to encode via Handbrake after ripping the entire DVD with AnyDVD in Parallels first. This same disc was giving me problems everyother way I tried to rip/encode it (using HB and MtR).
Core
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 5:31 am

Post by Core »

Cavalicious wrote:Ran through another test (with previous settings).

Big Momma's House 2 (don't ask!)

Ripped with MTR 3R14d then encoded with svnHB = Missing Audio

Ripped and Encoded with svnHB = Perfect .mp4

Conclusion: Obivious to me... The issue is not svnHB.

BUT...I did rip Casino Royale with MTR but encoded it with 0.8.0MF (less "features", older software) and it works great. One other deal So far, all .mp4 files I encoded with svnHB, I can't add "artwork" to. Is this another issue (known hopefully)?

Thanks,
~Cav
So... the only problem with this summary is that I took the same source file that I was losing audio at 49 minutes, regardless of the settings or computer or drives that I was using and ran it through Visual Hub and walla... no problems at all. There must be something that hb isn't liking in the mtr rip that vh doesn't have a problem with.

Core
nightstrm
Veteran User
Posts: 1887
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:43 am

Post by nightstrm »

More results from last night... while I was able to get one encode to function properly, the remaining in the queue exhibiting the same problem as before: audio dropping out at a chapter change. I'm going to try one with chapter markers disabled just to see if that is causing anything different to happen.

Settings were (anything not mentioned = default):
X-Files Season 1, Disc 1 NTSC (encoding titles 2, 3, and 4 into seperate files)
MP4/AVC H.264
Bitrate: 2250
2-pass encoding (as far as I observed, the FPS/CPU usage dropping has never occured during the 1st pass)
Audio Bitrate: 256 (input audio is 2.0 AC3)

DVD was ripped using the latest version of AnyDVD on Windows XP Pro running in Parallels, then transferred over so I could use the latest Mac HB SVN build (as of last night).
exodar
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:12 pm

Post by exodar »

Queued up 5 movies last night between my iMac and my Macbook (both Intel Core Duo). All 5 were ripped with MTR and exist on my local hard drives. Here are the HandBrake settings I used for everything:

HandBrake Version: 0.8.0b2 (2007040500) Checked out of SVN
Codec: AVC/H.264 Video / AAC Audio
Encoder: x264 (h.264 Main)
Average Bitrate: 1500
2-Pass encoding Enabled
Anamorphic Enabled
Audio Bitrate: 160

Here are my results:

Macbook
======
XMen3 : Perfect Sound
The Prestige : Sound cuts out at 32 Minutes
The Illusionist : Sound cuts out at 48 Minutes

iMac
===
Inside Man : Perfect Sound
Superman Returns : Sound cuts out at 48 Minutes

Hope this data helps...Just want to help the devs get to the bottom of this problem...its very strange.

Thanks...
exodar
Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious »

exodar wrote:Queued up 5 movies last night between my iMac and my Macbook (both Intel Core Duo). All 5 were ripped with MTR and exist on my local hard drives. Here are the HandBrake settings I used for everything:

HandBrake Version: 0.8.0b2 (2007040500) Checked out of SVN
Codec: AVC/H.264 Video / AAC Audio
Encoder: x264 (h.264 Main)
Average Bitrate: 1500
2-Pass encoding Enabled
Anamorphic Enabled
Audio Bitrate: 160

Here are my results:

Macbook
======
XMen3 : Perfect Sound
The Prestige : Sound cuts out at 32 Minutes
The Illusionist : Sound cuts out at 48 Minutes

iMac
===
Inside Man : Perfect Sound
Superman Returns : Sound cuts out at 48 Minutes

Hope this data helps...Just want to help the devs get to the bottom of this problem...its very strange.

Thanks...
exodar
What version of MTR (very important).
Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious »

petvas wrote:Handbrake just finished encoding Mission Impossible III from the Hard Drive...No sound...
I Ripped and Encoded Mi3 (same settings as before) with svnHB and all is fine.
dynaflash
Veteran User
Posts: 3820
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by dynaflash »

Core wrote: There must be something that hb isn't liking in the mtr rip that vh doesn't have a problem with.
Core
You are right, as well, that is likely why you might see longer encoding times from a hard drive fileset that was produced with mtr. Particularly the latest mtr in mf mode. HB is spending alot of time trying to read that structure.
exodar
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:12 pm

Post by exodar »

Sorry...the version of MTR is 3.0 - R14d. However, I am certain now that I think about it that I was using 3.0 - r13 for a couple of those rips...possibly even the ones that worked. I have no way of knowing for sure...I have just been ripping and saving all of these VIDEO_TS folders in anticipation of HandBrake...
Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious »

Cavalicious wrote:
petvas wrote:Handbrake just finished encoding Mission Impossible III from the Hard Drive...No sound...
I Ripped and Encoded Mi3 (same settings as before) with svnHB and all is fine.
Tested the above with Mediafork also...Mi3 is not a problematic DVD.
jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Debugging update

Post by jbrjake »

It seems that encoding with the CLI version of HandBrake avoids a number of these audio drop-out problems. I'm not going to say all, but definitely some.

Fixing this is going to difficult, because while that narrows the problem to the Mac GUI, the changes that would have caused it are very difficult to track down, and probably located in changeset 34--one of the largest revisions made to HandBrake's source code.

So while it's not a fundamental flaw in HandBrake, it is going to take awhile to fix.

Thanks to Loyalty_Anchored and NightStrm for sitting on IRC all day with me trying different things. For the sordid details, see the logs, starting here: http://handbrake.m0k.org/irclogs/handbr ... 6_pg7.html

For more information on using HandBrakeCLI, see here: http://handbrake.m0k.org/trac/wiki/CLIGuide
nightstrm
Veteran User
Posts: 1887
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:43 am

Post by nightstrm »

Very glad to help!

Just wanted to say that so far, using the CLI has allowed me to encode EVERY disc I was having problems with (primarily X-Files Season Set DVDs).
dynaflash
Veteran User
Posts: 3820
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by dynaflash »

okay, in testing the cli vs gui, I am finding that so far the cli has had the same issues as the gui for the disks I have tested.

But, having said that, I have no doubt that for some disks it works better. So, the hunt continues ...
petvas
Regular User
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:00 am

Post by petvas »

Cavalicious wrote:
Cavalicious wrote:
petvas wrote:Handbrake just finished encoding Mission Impossible III from the Hard Drive...No sound...
I Ripped and Encoded Mi3 (same settings as before) with svnHB and all is fine.
Tested the above with Mediafork also...Mi3 is not a problematic DVD.
Which version did you test??? There are so many of them!!1 I have the German one...
Ripping and encoding with Handbrake worked...If I rip with MTR and encode with Handbrake it doesnt...(H.264 endoder)
petvas
Regular User
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:00 am

Post by petvas »

I think I have found a workaround for the problematic DVDs...

I have tested it on two DVDs so far (Deja Vu, Star Wars III Revenge of Sith) and it worked.

Rip the whole DVD with MTR 3.0r14

Use DVDOneX to rip the main feature only and then use Handbrake to encode it...Thats it! No audio drops!!!
Cerebus
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:50 am

Post by Cerebus »

More data points:

Hardware: iMac Core Duo (not Core 2). This is the iMac4,1 revision which has a Pioneer DVD-RW DVR-K05 drive (firmware revision Q523).

Software: HB svn 474 (direct rip & encode)

Disc: The Incredibles

Settings:
(1) HB-AppleTV preset, modified for CRF CQ 70%
(2) HB-AppleTV preset, modified for ffmpeg CQ 70%
(3) HB-AppleTV preset, modified for 2-pass average bitrate @2mbps
(4) HB-AppleTV preset, modified for ffmpeg 2-pass average bitrate @2mbps
(5) HB-AppleTV preset, modified for CQP CQ 70%

Under (1), audio cuts out immediately as the main title begins (i.e., right after the studio credits). Framerate and CPU usage both dropped significantly.

Under (2), no problems.

Under (3), audio cuts out at chapter 8. Interestingly, there was no corresponding drop in framerate or CPU usage.

Under (4), no problems.

Under (5), no problems.

(As a side note, CQ 70% under ffmpeg looks like crap. It ended up with ~500kbps. I *did* average about 55fps though. :D )

I'm going to run a couple of other passes and see what happens.

Edited to add (3) & (4)
Edited to add (5).
Last edited by Cerebus on Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.
cvk_b
Veteran User
Posts: 527
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:11 am

Post by cvk_b »

Is there a list of "drop-out discs" somewhere? If I have any I will try to help troubleshoot. I haven't had *any* problems at all lately. I wonder if it is because I upgraded my firmware on my Pioneer109 to 1.58.
cheesypasta
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 12:38 am

Post by cheesypasta »

I have the dropped audio problem with movie Grandma's Boy. Audio drops after the first chapter. MPEGstreamclip shows timecode errors. Ripped with MTR 3.0 14d. When I encoded with MF 0.8b1 as h.264 I get the dropped audio. When I encoded with ffmpeg there is no dropped audio. Apparantly h.264 has a problem with timecode errors.
petvas
Regular User
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:00 am

Post by petvas »

Unfortunately my initial impression that DVD2OneX acts as a workaround, didnt prove true. I ripped that way Die Hard and HB dropped the Audio...
bhaal
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 9:07 am

Post by bhaal »

Hmmmm

Maybe different discs have differing degrees of timecode errors, DTOX fixes some but not all (maybe more by accident that design), hence why it works as a workaround in some instances but not others.

Damn this is a very tricky problem.
petvas
Regular User
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 3:00 am

Post by petvas »

I had the exact same issue with The Rock and after DTOX it works...
Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious »

I guess I could throw this twist at ya...

Ripped Casino Royale WS with MTR R14d (Main Feature Only)

Encoded with svnHB (earlier stated settings)...all is fine (except artwork).

This has been the only DVD ripped with MTR R14d that svnHB was able to encode. Ironic, due to the fact this "was" the hardest DVD to crack.

Maybe this verison of MTR was made to specificly go after Sony's lastest?!
Cerebus
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2007 12:50 am

Post by Cerebus »

Upthread I've kept a running log of some test encodes I'm running with a title that (under some settings) drops audio. One PITA is I can't seem to make the drop-out occur with a specific segment (one drop was at the beginning of chapter 1, the other at chapter 8), so I've been running full encodes with each test.

So far, results appear rather random. Encoding with x264 is the only common setting between two problematic encodes, but the last one I did was x264 CQ without CRF enabled, and it was fine.

Also, contrary to upthread speculation, I am using a Pioneer drive.

One thing I haven't mucked with yet is the audio settings. I'm going to do this next. I'm going to try to reproduce the drop-out and then start altering audio options and see if there's an effect. I'll continue to edit my post upthread with additional data.

As far as speculation on the source of the problem, I'm currently thinking that there might be a problem with muxing (in either direction--demux at read or remux at encode). I assume that HB has only one ripping code pathway, so if the problem were ripping (or copy protection) the problem should show up in most if not all of my test runs. I was thinking that the problem was CRF, but I had the problem show up in an constant bitrate run (unless CRF is doing something in constant bitrate encodes I don't know about).

-- C
Locked