Audio Passthru

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
pbarker1701
Regular User
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 7:59 am

Audio Passthru

Post by pbarker1701 »

Description of problem or question:
Are there any advantages (or disadvantages) to setting the Audio Passthru for multiple sources?
Specifically, setting it for not only the default of AAC but also DTS-HD and TrueHD.

How do these setting interact with the audio selection for the specific tracks?



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
N/A



HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
HandBrake 1.3.3


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
macOS 11.1



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3822
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Audio Passthru

Post by musicvid »

Passthrough passes through the audio format rather than re-encoding it, if that format is selected.
pbarker1701
Regular User
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun May 17, 2020 7:59 am

Re: Audio Passthru

Post by pbarker1701 »

So basically a TrueHD 7.1 audio would stay that way, rather then being changed to a different audio format?
musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3822
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: Audio Passthru

Post by musicvid »

You need to start using your own eyes instead of mine.
Drop down the Audio Codec list.
Is Dolby TrueHD listed as a Passthrough option?
Now you have your answer, and good luck.
Post Reply