HandBrake does not use Apple M1 video encoder/decoder

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Kikko90
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 8:31 pm

HandBrake does not use Apple M1 video encoder/decoder

Post by Kikko90 »

Unfortunately, the native version of HandBreak uses only and exclusively the CPU for the conversion, which leads to being the only app to cope with a high CPU load and, at the same time, to drive the fan.

Image

Image

It is hoped that in the next release you can also take advantage of the M1 video encoder / decoder, in order to bring, in addition to a higher conversion speed, also to a lower power consumption and, at the same time, zero heat impact of the SoC (from which it determines the drive of the fan).
User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1190
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: HandBrake does not use Apple M1 video encoder/decoder

Post by Ritsuka »

That's not true, the hardware encoder is supported (if you select it in the encoder popup).
The hardware decoder is not supported and there is no plan to support it.
archer75
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 5:42 pm

Re: HandBrake does not use Apple M1 video encoder/decoder

Post by archer75 »

On my 2018 mini with the i7 I can encode all day long at 95c and that CPU maxed. The thing is damn hot but it does it. Fan spinning away.

The temps on these new M1 minis at 100% load with the fan going are what, around 60c? I'd take that.
Post Reply