Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
handyman0815
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 1:48 pm

Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

Post by handyman0815 »

Description of problem or question:
As said: used Handbrake a few days one a new Mac very well. Set as files Source an other Mac in
my home network. Yesterday I changed network name of these other Mac. Now Handbrake
denies to start with the massage "xxx server not found".

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
Tried to set back Handbrake with TimeMachine to a very earlydate.
Deleted Handbrake, tried to find any remain of HB in Libraries etc., deleted them too.
Restarted the Mac, installed HB again. Unfortunately the same failure...

HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
HB 1.3.3



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Mac OS Mojave 10.14.6

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)
Can I generate a such one without even starting HB?

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.
I`m a kind of desperated, what can I do to use HB on my Mac again?
User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1184
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

Post by Ritsuka »

1.3.3 had a non optimal queue behaviour, that results in checking all the queue items filesystem paths at startup. This will be fixed in 1.4.
You can either delete the queue file in /Users/username/Library/Containers/fr.handbrake.HandBrake/Data/Library/Application Support/HandBrake or download the 1.4 beta from https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/releases.
handyman0815
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2020 1:48 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

Post by handyman0815 »

Thanks a lot, I installed the Beta and this has solved my issue immediatly!
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3604
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

Post by rollin_eng »

Ritsuka wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 2:35 pm 1.3.3 had a non optimal queue behaviour, that results in checking all the queue items filesystem paths at startup. This will be fixed in 1.4.
You can either delete the queue file in /Users/username/Library/Containers/fr.handbrake.HandBrake/Data/Library/Application Support/HandBrake or download the 1.4 beta from https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/releases.
Are you moving to a beta release model, or is this just for the new Mac systems?
User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1184
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

Post by Ritsuka »

Just a one time beta for the new Macs.
rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3604
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake doesn`t start due to missed server adress

Post by rollin_eng »

Ritsuka wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 8:01 pm Just a one time beta for the new Macs.
Coolio, makes sense.
Post Reply