Page 1 of 1

Different output size Windows vs. Mac Version

Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2020 11:05 pm
by skytiger
Description of problem or question:
Why am I getting double the output file size on the Mac version vs. the Windows version of the software? I'm using the exact same input file with the exact same conversion settings.



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.3.1 (2020010400)



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Windows 10 latest, MacOS latest



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)
https://pastebin.com/43hNjc7G

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.
If you are unable to do so, please state why so we can help you.

Re: Different output size Windows vs. Mac Version

Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2020 12:22 am
by Woodstock
And we need the Mac encode log to see what you told it to do.
[04:46:36] base preset: Super HQ 576p25 Surround (Modified)
Modifications change how the program acts.

Re: Different output size Windows vs. Mac Version

Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:35 pm
by skytiger
I was looking more for a general answer re if and under which circumstances the Mac version encodes differently as opposed to the Windows version.

The activity log uploaded is only that of the Windows machine and there’s a lot of stuff from other conversions in there. Not sure if that’s going to help at all to answer my question.

Or paraphrased: Should the converted files be identical Mac vs. Windows or a differences to be expected?

Re: Different output size Windows vs. Mac Version

Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:42 pm
by rollin_eng
They should be the same.

Re: Different output size Windows vs. Mac Version

Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:45 pm
by Woodstock
If given IDENTICAL settings, they should be within a small margin of the same size.

But subtle changes can make a LARGE difference in size. Example: the method of removing interlace, especially when using placebo encoder settings like you did, will have a large effect.

Re: Different output size Windows vs. Mac Version

Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2020 2:15 am
by mduell
skytiger wrote:
Sat Apr 25, 2020 8:35 pm
I was looking more for a general answer re if and under which circumstances the Mac version encodes differently as opposed to the Windows version.
"Why am I getting double the output file size on the Mac version vs. the Windows version of the software?"

Strange way of phrasing that!