Maintaining Surround Sound

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
jimmy101
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:32 pm

Maintaining Surround Sound

Post by jimmy101 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 12:39 pm

Hi there,

I have a ProRes file with 5.1 Surround Sound that I need to compress whilst keeping the surround sound. When I open the file in handbrake it only shows one track - 0: Unknown (pcm_s24le) (1.0ch), Codec: ACC (CoreAudio), Mixdown: Mono.
So I'm adding all the other tracks and end up with a total of 6, however whenever I preview the file it only plays one track at a time. Whereas in the source file it plays all of them. I've opened up the Selection Behaviour tab and had a play around but it doesn't seem to make a difference. Can someone point me in the right direction on how to maintain the surround sound on the compressed file?

Thanks,

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3089
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Maintaining Surround Sound

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Jun 02, 2019 1:56 pm

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3096
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Maintaining Surround Sound

Post by Woodstock » Sun Jun 02, 2019 3:09 pm

If ProRes is saving the file as 6 separate mono streams, handbrake can't mix them for you. You have to mix the tracks into one stream before handing it to handbrake.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6529
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Maintaining Surround Sound

Post by mduell » Sun Jun 02, 2019 4:34 pm

An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.

Post Reply