Wrong localization choice on osx

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
ericdordt@hotmail.com
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:43 pm

Wrong localization choice on osx

Post by ericdordt@hotmail.com » Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:50 pm

On my Imac i've got a German keyboard, an English System, and French as preferred Language for apps (followed by English, but no German despite my Keyboard). I know i am an Alien , but i live in a border Region.

Starting with 1.2.0 , the program starts with German localization (the same as the keyboard layout). I would understand that u choose one of the liste localization in the preferred languages for application in system settings (in preferrence order).

Best solution would be to let the user decide on the localization.


Voila Voila !

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1011
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: Wrong localization choice on osx

Post by Ritsuka » Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:01 pm

The app language is chosen by the system based on the list in System Preferences -> Language & Region. HandBrake is currently only in English and German. So if you have English before German in System Preferences it will be in English, if not, in German. Anyway, macOS chooses the language, there is no code in HandBrake to set the active localisation.

ericdordt@hotmail.com
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 1:43 pm

Re: Wrong localization choice on osx

Post by ericdordt@hotmail.com » Tue Feb 05, 2019 4:21 pm

Ahh Yes thx , this works, i had only french and german in the language and regions listbox, i added English before German and.....tadaaaa


Thx

Post Reply