wrong subtitle names

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
patimages
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:19 pm

wrong subtitle names

Post by patimages » Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:20 pm

Hi,
I am on Mac (lastest version) and handbrake (latest version) and have a long-lasting issue. When I watch a movie in VLC with several embedded subtitles, I can select the subtitles I want by name (i.e. : "French forced" or "French full"). When I open the same movie in handbrake and wish to burn one of the subtitles set, the names are different as compared to VLC (usually, the "French [UTF-8]" name is used for each subtitles...No way to differentiate the subtitles then). Is there any way to fix this issue (I have had it for a long time across different versions)?
Many thanks for your help !

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: wrong subtitle names

Post by Woodstock » Wed Dec 19, 2018 2:46 pm

VLC provides you with a subtitle track number that is the same as displayed in handbrake.

patimages
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:19 pm

Re: wrong subtitle names

Post by patimages » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:12 am

Thanks for your reply but it is not true in my case : see the attached pict. On top, VLC where the "forced" label is mentioned in VLC. At the bottom, the same video file opened in Handbrake : no "forced label). In this particular case, not an issue since there is only one subtitle set but when there are several, no way to know which is which as Handbrake name them all "French UTF8"...

http://mm.unice.fr/kv/1.jpg

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: wrong subtitle names

Post by Woodstock » Thu Dec 20, 2018 2:20 pm

Ah, so VLC has modified their program to reduce its utility even further... Older versions put the track number up, then the meta data about the track.

Unless that's a "helpful" feature of the Mac version; I'll ask a friend who has one later today.

I will say that I've not seen a subtitle track that has "forced" in its meta data. They might BE the "forced" subtitles, but it is usually tagged just with the language. Are you, by chance, having VLC only show tagged-as-forced subtitles, and the track itself is just "French"?

patimages
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2015 8:19 pm

Re: wrong subtitle names

Post by patimages » Thu Dec 20, 2018 7:38 pm

Not sure of what you mean : VLC does what I need... I get the subtitles meta and then the language (I would not mind the other way around). Concerning the "forced" label : it is very common. Usually, you get "full" (to have the whole movie with subtitles), "forced" (when you watch a movie with parts in a foreign language that are then translated) or "hearing impaired".

In any case, I am satisfied with VLC. I would like to get the same in Handbrake. In other words, can we get metadata as a track description ?

Thanks for you help !

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3097
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: wrong subtitle names

Post by Woodstock » Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:02 pm

What I'm trying to figure out is where VLC is getting that ''Forced" label it is displaying in your screen shot. I deal with subtitles daily, and have not seen "Forced" displayed by VLC; just "Track NN" and the language.

Although I have not installed 3.x, due to the "less than polite" reviews I've read.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12105
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: wrong subtitle names

Post by Rodeo » Thu Dec 20, 2018 8:32 pm

HandBrake doesn't set the Matroska "forced track" tag anyway, so it's not surprising you would have never seen it.

Post Reply