1920 HD files stay stuck at 1680

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
JimDaneker
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:29 pm

1920 HD files stay stuck at 1680

Post by JimDaneker » Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:40 pm

Description of problem or question:

Running into a new issue on this latest version of Handbrake: I finish a video in FCPX, output to 1920 x 1080 (ProRes 422), and open it in Handbrake to prep a compressed version for YouTube (I always get better results and less A/V sync issues with Handbrake as opposed to uploading straight from FCP). However, I noticed that size defaults to "1680x1080 Storage, 1680x1080 Display" and no matter what I try in the Dimensions tab, it will not allow anything other than a width of 1680. Surely I'm missing something simple here, but I've never had this issue before. Thanks in advance!


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):

1.1.2


Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):

Mac OSX 10.12.5


HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

https://pastebin.com/wthzZ2xn

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2870
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: 1920 HD files stay stuck at 1680

Post by Woodstock » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:50 pm

[12:17:21] scan: 10 previews, 1920x1080, 23.976 fps, autocrop = 0/0/0/240, aspect 16:9, PAR 1:1
Handbrake is detecting a 240-pixel-wide blank area. If you want it there, turn auto-crop off and set the crop values to all zeros.

JimDaneker
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: 1920 HD files stay stuck at 1680

Post by JimDaneker » Tue Dec 11, 2018 7:36 pm

Woodstock wrote:
Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:50 pm
[12:17:21] scan: 10 previews, 1920x1080, 23.976 fps, autocrop = 0/0/0/240, aspect 16:9, PAR 1:1
Handbrake is detecting a 240-pixel-wide blank area. If you want it there, turn auto-crop off and set the crop values to all zeros.
Ah, I knew it was something simple. I wonder why that happened in the first place though - I didn't do anything special with this video - there's no "blank area" that I know of. Anyway, thanks for the help!

Post Reply