With upcoming changes to data protection and privacy laws in Europe coming into effect soon, we thought this would be a good time to remind everyone that we do have a privacy policy.
This applies to all users and visitors world-wide.

We have made a few changes to the language to make it clearer in relation to this new regulation but fundamentally, the terms and your rights are unchanged.

If you have any questions about this, please feel free to ask in the General Forum

TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
metaldave
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:40 pm

TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by metaldave » Sun May 21, 2017 2:06 am

Hi, community!

After reviewing several options over the past few weeks, I, finally, settled on using E-AC3 to encode my audio from my rips. Unfortunately, I've run into an incompatibility when it comes to 7.1 tracks.

Specifically, I'm trying to encode a Dolby TrueHD using the E-AC3 Codec. This, automatically, brings up the Mixdown options, and these are as follows: Mono, Stereo, Dolby Surround, Dolby ProLogic II, and 5.1 Channels.

Why is there no 7.1 option to passthrough the audio channels? I've even tried using the CLI application (specifying the "-6 7point1" option), and this generates the same 6-channel mixdown.

Any help would be appreciated!

- Dave

Env: HandBrake v1.07 running on MacOS 10.12.4.
https://pastebin.com/7cuWpT1a

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11868
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by Rodeo » Sun May 21, 2017 4:28 am

Our E-AC-3 encoder doesn't support coding the extensions required for more than 5.1 channels.

metaldave
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:40 pm

Re: TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by metaldave » Sun May 21, 2017 5:41 am

Thank you very much for the clarification.

Is this something that can be put on the roadmap via a feature request, or is there something that makes using an encoder with this capability prohibitive (e.g. cost, availability, etc...)?

It seems like most commercial "Digital Copy" versions of 7.1 films are encoded with E-AC3, and it would be nice to use the same standard practice with my private collection.

Thanks again!

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11868
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by Rodeo » Sun May 21, 2017 3:26 pm

The E-AC-3 encoder is provided by libavcodec (a third-party software library we use). The developer who perfected the AC-3 encoder and added E-AC-3 encoding is no longer actively working on libavcodec, so chances of 7.1 support being added quickly is fairly low, but you may always direct a feature request to them if you like: https://libav.org/contact/

metaldave
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:40 pm

Re: TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by metaldave » Tue May 23, 2017 7:20 am

Thank you for the insight, Rodeo. I'll check out the link and give it a go.

dm29
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 4:24 pm

Re: TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by dm29 » Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:25 pm

Hi! How do you encode to E-AC3?? The GUI only provides AC3 encoding or E-AC3 passthrough.
Thank you

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1284
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: TrueHD 7.1 to EAC3 7.1 - Possible?

Post by BradleyS » Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:27 pm

This question probably would have been better suited to a new thread as opposed to reviving a year-old thread.

Short answer: HandBrake does not currently support encoding to 7.1 E-AC-3.

Post Reply