HandBrake Speed

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
ivanpasic

HandBrake Speed

Post by ivanpasic »

Hello I apologize about this very ignorant question but hopefully someone can offer me an answer I can understand, I am a doctor and have limited knowledge of computers.

I am wondering, and not really complaining but simply wondering why handbrake takes such a long time to convert .mkv movies to Apple TV 4th generation .mp4 movies. I am asking this as I also use software called Smart Converter Pro to do the same job. I have compared them side by side.... For the same movie, Smart Converter Pro can finish the job in 2-3 minutes while Hand Brake takes over 1 hour... The inly difference that I noticed is that the files coming out of Smart Converter Pro are much larger than Handbrake output files.

Will appreciate any answers/advice....
rollin_eng
Veteran User

Re: HandBrake Speed

Post by rollin_eng »

You have probably answered your own question, you are trading speed for size. We need to see logs from both programs to be sure.

Quality, Speed, Size pick 2.
mduell
Veteran User

Post by mduell »

HandBrake offers extensive configuration options to suit your preferences. If you want faster encodes, pick faster settings!

Fast, good, small: pick 2.
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team

Post by JohnAStebbins »

There's not much information available about how Smart Converter Pro works, but one clue is this sentence in the apple app store description:
Smart Converter Pro analyses your files and only converts the bits that need to be converted.