unlock the Width & Height

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Bluerose5
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 10:08 am

unlock the Width & Height

Post by Bluerose5 » Sat Jan 23, 2016 11:47 pm

Can anyone tell me how to unlock the Width & Height input fields on the Picture Settings menu?
I have a VOB file that was originally set in some strange resolution and want to fix it back to 4:3

I have tried deselecting 'keep aspect ratio' and turning off Anamorphic, but after I input the new values, it reverts back.

MAC OSX 10.9.5 and using Handbrake Version 0.10.3 x86_64 (2016012200)

Thanks.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3128
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:06 am

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

viewtopic.php?f=6&t=31236

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12138
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by Rodeo » Sun Jan 24, 2016 10:25 am

You need a golden key (I have a few spares, I can sell you one for 99 bucks), and you also need to find the lock, it's hidden somewhere on the pineapple.

Alfredo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:54 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by Alfredo » Tue Jan 26, 2016 8:52 pm

It seem that you have the same "Problem" I have on some Files. The Handbreak GUI does not allow to scale up so I think you typed in a value bigger than the x or y dimension of the source material.

I asked the same question and got the answer that the command line handbrake can do what I think you want to do. So I see no chance to get the GUI changed in an official Build....

User avatar
Ritsuka
HandBrake Team
Posts: 1055
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 11:29 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by Ritsuka » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:08 am

You can use custom anamorphic.

Alfredo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:54 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by Alfredo » Wed Jan 27, 2016 8:06 am

Yes, you are right. The "problem" is, that some people don´t want an anamorphic output, they want an output of 16:9 that was sent in anamorphic. On some Sat Receiver channels the Source is 544 x 576 pixel anamorphic 16:9 and they want to transcode it for their Collection to 720 x 404 oder 1024 x 576...

The real question is - why is the GUI setting the maxwidth / maxhight to the width / height of the source material? I have patched this behavior "quick and dirty" and it works like a charme... I don´t understand the reason of this user-restriction - handbrake by itself can handle it without a problem.

kpflugshaupt
Posts: 63
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 8:00 pm

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by kpflugshaupt » Wed Jan 27, 2016 1:47 pm

Alfredo wrote:Yes, you are right. The "problem" is, that some people don´t want an anamorphic output, they want an output of 16:9 that was sent in anamorphic. On some Sat Receiver channels the Source is 544 x 576 pixel anamorphic 16:9 and they want to transcode it for their Collection to 720 x 404 oder 1024 x 576...

The real question is - why is the GUI setting the maxwidth / maxhight to the width / height of the source material? I have patched this behavior "quick and dirty" and it works like a charme... I don´t understand the reason of this user-restriction - handbrake by itself can handle it without a problem.
As far as I know, the developer team's thinking behind this is:
  • Upscaling is generally discouraged, as it should be done on playing by the player hardware/software instead
  • People who really need to upscale can do it via the CLI version
There appears to be an alternative front-end to the Handbrake backend called "VidCoder" that will let you upscale, too. It's maintained by somebody else (not on this forum), and I've never used it.

Easiest, in my opinion, to use the CLI for those few cases. If it's a regular requirement, consider writing a script.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5420
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by JohnAStebbins » Wed Jan 27, 2016 2:30 pm

The fact that HandBrake does not allowing upscaling of one dimension during conversion from anamorphic to non-anamorphic has always been a little peeve of mine. During such a conversion, you either have to upscale one dimension, or downscale the other dimension and lose quality. I've always felt we should allow upscaling as long as at least one dimension is <= the source dimension.

Maybe it's time to have that discussion again. Last time I was overridden by jbrjake who is no longer involved with the project.

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3238
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by musicvid » Sat Jan 30, 2016 3:45 pm

+1

The conversion to display width must occur somewhere; imposing a penalty for doing so during the encoding stage begs for reasoning.

The correctly defined viewing dimensions for dvd widescreen format in the Americas is 854x480, not 720x404.
Merely extrapolating the data to its intended display width does not constitute upscaling, a term that unfortunately has become a bit politicized.

Sending the message that software uprez is a bad thing is really a matter of ongoing education, not overly restrictive limits.

Anyone who actually edits or delivers this stuff knows what a pita anamorphic can be to work with. It was designed to save bandwidth during tape acquisition, no mystery there. The choice was made to sacrifice some horizontal resolution, because it is less noticeable than sacrificing the more-important vertical resolution, which is currently what Handbrake GUI does.

The philosophy of "if it doesn't make it smaller, we're not going to do it" becomes a bit of a burden when the net effect is to degrade the viewing experience, in this case by dumping over 1,300,000 bits (15%) of perfectly good raw image data per frame.

We have the choice not to crop; should we have a choice not to downscale, as well?

Bottom line is whether anamorphic or 1:1, the Display Height = Storage Height.

If we reverse that and say that display width = storage width, then our NTSC 4:3 DVDs would come out 720x540, which meets anyone's description of upscaling, doesn't it?

Alfredo
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 10:54 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by Alfredo » Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:07 am

OK - Upscaling seems to be the wrong terminus.

In my case I only want to get rid of the anamorphic material. As an example - dvb-s sends mpeg-2 in width 720 pix by hight 576 pix 16:9 and I want convert it to square pixels mp4. The best way to achieve this with a minimum of loss is an recoding to 1024 by 576. That is the way the "professional" iSkysoft Video Converter handles it. The handbrake GUI does handle it in a different very lossy way. The best square pixels are 720 x 396 pix because the GUI forbids a "scale up" of the width to 1024 pix.

Handbrake CLI can handle it the "right way" - the GUI does not.

The "problem" is found in the MAC Gui - I have no other Computer. In the two files PictureController.m and Controller.m maxwidth and setMaxValue are set to the width of the source material and so only the hight can be reduced to get an square pixel output.

From my point of view this is an absolut silly behavior with the maximum of quality loss.

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3238
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by musicvid » Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:46 am

Yes, we have the same goal; not to upscale, but to render to correct Display Width, and not Storage Width, which is just a red herring. Pixel aspect can be greater than or less than 1.0!
I haven't complained that much because I've had an easy workaround in WinGUI.

Thanks John Stebbins offering to revisit the discussion. [Corrected attribution]
Last edited by musicvid on Sun Jan 31, 2016 2:59 pm, edited 6 times in total.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9496
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by s55 » Sun Jan 31, 2016 11:59 am

j45, not s55

We are two different people ... :)

musicvid
Veteran User
Posts: 3238
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:19 am

Re: unlock the Width & Height

Post by musicvid » Sun Jan 31, 2016 12:04 pm

Sorry, I knew that. Corrected.
... :wink:

Post Reply