Video size affected by creating new user preset

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
kfreeb
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:10 pm

Video size affected by creating new user preset

Post by kfreeb » Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:48 pm

Had a question for Rodeo or any developer that works on the user presets.

The Question is about the User Presets and when creating new presets, (for Blu-ray MakeMKV files.)

I've been having a bit of quandary when creating a particular preset based on the AppleTV 3 preset. Here's what I've been trying to do.

I've have modified the afore mention preset to encode at 1280x720 by changing the size setting, in the "Picture Settings".

I then changed the filter preset for noise reduction to weak as well as turned off the "Decomb" filter, (which also worked fine, once the new preset was created.)

Here's where the problem begins.

Now what I was trying to do different, that caused the problem was this. Having loaded an MKV source file which contains an AC3 audio track, (0: English (AC3) (5.1 ch) and then changing the audio codec from "AC3 (ffmpeg) ; 5.1 Channels ; Auto ; 640" to "AC3 Passthru", (save the preset) it affects the video size of most movies, when applying the newly created preset.

Example:

Using the movie "Tomb Raider", (which has an AC3 audio track.)
The source file is a blu-ray 1920x1080.
The preset is scaling this down to an output of 1280x536 due to auto cropping.
The anamorphic output is also 1280x536.

I now change the audio from "AC3 (ffmpeg) ; 5.1 Channels ; Auto ; 640", to "AC3 Passthru" and save this new preset, so that those MKV files that have an AC3 audio track, will passthrough, all others will re-encode to AC3 5.1 etc.

Here's the hiccup, I now open the movie Under Siege

With the new preset, (were passing through the AC3 audio was the only change made) it now scales the movie down to 950x536. Even movies that should scale down 1280x720 are all over the place for scaling.

Now the move that I made the change with, (when making the change to pass through the AC3 audio) still scales correctly, all others do not, scaling to many odd sizes.

Why would changing the the audio, (to pass through AC3 audio) affect the video sizes so dramatically when creating a new user preset?

Any help on what is going on would be appreciated.
Last edited by kfreeb on Wed Feb 27, 2013 8:25 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12248
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Video size affected by creating new user preset

Post by Rodeo » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:01 pm

When saving your new preset, you must have set the max. dimensions to 1280x536, instead of 1280x720.

kfreeb
Posts: 66
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 4:10 pm

Re: Video size affected by creating new user preset

Post by kfreeb » Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:09 am

That was it, I'm going to have to keep an eye on that setting, when creating presets.

Great catch Rodeo!

Thanks

Post Reply