READ ME / POST HERE if a specific DVD/Movie won't rip

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Sun Apr 08, 2007 10:13 pm

I didn't try MPEG-4, only H.264. This may have only been added to the box set disc 1.

almcclymont
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:28 am

Eating up disk space?

Post by almcclymont » Tue Apr 10, 2007 12:34 am

Hi... Is it possible that a zero cell movie will somehow eat up disk space? (i.e. temp files or some such).

Am a new Mac user, sorry if this is a dumb question. I've ripped a few DVDs perfectly, but several unsuccessful attempts on the last one have coincided with disk space (in the tens of GB) disappearing.

Thanks!

slkapust
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:16 pm

Post by slkapust » Tue Apr 10, 2007 3:55 am

grumpier old men
-mtr then dtox then mf
one flew over the cuckoo's nest

rhester
Veteran User
Posts: 2888
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:24 pm

Re: Eating up disk space?

Post by rhester » Tue Apr 10, 2007 1:31 pm

almcclymont wrote:Hi... Is it possible that a zero cell movie will somehow eat up disk space? (i.e. temp files or some such).

Am a new Mac user, sorry if this is a dumb question. I've ripped a few DVDs perfectly, but several unsuccessful attempts on the last one have coincided with disk space (in the tens of GB) disappearing.
Yes, absolutely. See the discussion at http://handbrake.m0k.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=437 and the Trac ticket at http://handbrake.m0k.org/trac/ticket/12 for details.

Rodney

ajbarnes
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:02 am

Post by ajbarnes » Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:05 am

What's the story with Click?

Another Sony dud? HB/MF didn't cut it.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Sat Apr 14, 2007 2:12 am

slkapust wrote:grumpier old men
-mtr then dtox then mf
one flew over the cuckoo's nest
One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest ripped fine for me....

slkapust
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 8:16 pm

Post by slkapust » Sat Apr 14, 2007 12:08 pm

If it matters, my copy of One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest is an earlier release from 1997.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Sun Apr 15, 2007 2:21 am

Actually, that would mean it would likely have no copy protection on it as this didn't start until within the last year or so.

I removed Reservoir Dogs as it just ripped fine for me without anything special.

gmalarkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:53 pm

Post by gmalarkey » Mon Apr 16, 2007 1:59 am

baggss wrote:I ripped that with HB 0.7.1 some time back with no issues. You are saying you see a bunch of titles but not the main feature?
jediracer wrote:Both The Departed and X-Men 3 worked just fine for me. (first try and everything)
I had no issues with The Departed either. That's why neither is on the list.
yeah, it just looks like the special features. some outline drawins and such. not sure what to do on that one.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:36 am

Removed Cars, it just ripped fine for me.

jediracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by jediracer » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:38 pm

i can't get any sound for cars. same thing happened with tokyo drift.

dynaflash
Veteran User
Posts: 3820
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by dynaflash » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:47 pm

jediracer wrote:i can't get any sound for cars. same thing happened with tokyo drift.
Try ripping cars mtr full disk first. This one has worked just fine for me as well. Looks good on iPod too.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Tue Apr 17, 2007 6:37 pm

dynaflash wrote:
jediracer wrote:i can't get any sound for cars. same thing happened with tokyo drift.
Try ripping cars mtr full disk first. This one has worked just fine for me as well. Looks good on iPod too.
I find this odd. I ripped mine directly from the DVD with svn 493 with no audio issues at all.

dynaflash
Veteran User
Posts: 3820
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by dynaflash » Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:24 pm

baggss, probably does work great from dvd. I just know I had already ripped full disk with mtr. which works great.

Seems strange that it works for some, and supposedly not for others though .

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Tue Apr 17, 2007 8:34 pm

I'm noticing people having a lot more trouble on Intel Macs than on PPC Mac, but maybe it's just my imagination. Maybe it's because I'm ripping at a significantly lower quality than most people.

jediracer, what were your exact setting for Cars and Tokyo Drift?

jediracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by jediracer » Thu Apr 19, 2007 1:35 pm

Lords of Dogtown

jediracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by jediracer » Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:27 pm

baggss wrote: jediracer, what were your exact setting for Cars and Tokyo Drift?
i dunno exactly, i always just use the default settings and it usually works fine.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6678
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Post by mduell » Sat Apr 21, 2007 10:03 pm

FYI it's ARccOS not ARCoS.

jediracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by jediracer » Fri Apr 27, 2007 5:27 pm

I couldn't get ULTRAVIOLET to work

jlipsit
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 10:19 pm

Post by jlipsit » Sat Apr 28, 2007 11:21 am

This is new type of problem that I have not seen before: when I open the DVD "Tenacious D" (The Pick Of Destiny) although the DVD is 1 Hour and 40 Minutes, the largest title found is about 30 minutes. Then there are about 30 or so titles that are about 5 - 15 minutes in length.

I suspect this is some new technique to thwart copying. I did not attempt to RIP the DVD.

Has anyone seen this before? I searched the board and did not come up with anything.

Would a future version of Handbrake be able to combine "select" titles into one feature?

hallste7
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:08 pm

Me too...

Post by hallste7 » Wed May 02, 2007 10:12 pm

I've had the same problem only with Conan the Barbarian. It will bring up all the titles in 0.8.5 but it only rips half the sound (that's coming from a Video TS folder ripped with MTR).

When I use an older version it just doesn't bring the any title longer than 5 minutes.

I'm not sure what to do because when I check for zero cells in Detox there are none, every cell has more than a minute's worth of content.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed May 02, 2007 10:42 pm

The sound issue is separate from the Zero Cell issue and is, I believe, only related to Intel Mac. I've heard no reports of it happening on PPC based machines, but I could be wrong.

jediracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by jediracer » Mon May 07, 2007 6:52 pm

jlipsit wrote:This is new type of problem that I have not seen before: when I open the DVD "Tenacious D" (The Pick Of Destiny) although the DVD is 1 Hour and 40 Minutes, the largest title found is about 30 minutes. Then there are about 30 or so titles that are about 5 - 15 minutes in length.

I suspect this is some new technique to thwart copying. I did not attempt to RIP the DVD.

Has anyone seen this before? I searched the board and did not come up with anything.

Would a future version of Handbrake be able to combine "select" titles into one feature?
had the same problem with Black Christmas (unrated)

zapple
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 11:56 pm

Post by zapple » Tue May 08, 2007 11:59 pm

40 year old virgin worked fine for me

gmalarkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:53 pm

Post by gmalarkey » Wed May 09, 2007 12:05 am

jediracer wrote:
jlipsit wrote:This is new type of problem that I have not seen before: when I open the DVD "Tenacious D" (The Pick Of Destiny) although the DVD is 1 Hour and 40 Minutes, the largest title found is about 30 minutes. Then there are about 30 or so titles that are about 5 - 15 minutes in length.

I suspect this is some new technique to thwart copying. I did not attempt to RIP the DVD.

Has anyone seen this before? I searched the board and did not come up with anything.

Would a future version of Handbrake be able to combine "select" titles into one feature?
had the same problem with Black Christmas (unrated)
i had the same prob with family guy. i have heard that my prob might be because i am on a mac

Locked