READ ME / POST HERE if a specific DVD/Movie won't rip

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Locked
baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed May 09, 2007 2:29 am

gmalarkey wrote:
jediracer wrote:
jlipsit wrote:This is new type of problem that I have not seen before: when I open the DVD "Tenacious D" (The Pick Of Destiny) although the DVD is 1 Hour and 40 Minutes, the largest title found is about 30 minutes. Then there are about 30 or so titles that are about 5 - 15 minutes in length.

I suspect this is some new technique to thwart copying. I did not attempt to RIP the DVD.

Has anyone seen this before? I searched the board and did not come up with anything.

Would a future version of Handbrake be able to combine "select" titles into one feature?
had the same problem with Black Christmas (unrated)
i had the same prob with family guy. i have heard that my prob might be because i am on a mac
I ripped all 4 seasons of FG on my Mac, with HB 0.7.1 even. No problems at all.

gmalarkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:53 pm

Post by gmalarkey » Wed May 09, 2007 3:09 pm

well dang. then i wonder what i could be doin wrong? cause Varsity Blues worked great, but I did Family Guy the same way, but no luck.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed May 09, 2007 10:47 pm

gmalarkey wrote:well dang. then i wonder what i could be doin wrong? cause Varsity Blues worked great, but I did Family Guy the same way, but no luck.
Was the the FG Movie or the TV series?

gmalarkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:53 pm

Post by gmalarkey » Thu May 10, 2007 2:02 am

FG Movie. longest title was about maybe 10 min or less.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Thu May 10, 2007 2:48 am

Ah, I got it. Let me take a look at mine and see what it does. What kind of Mac are you on? Have you tried doing a full disc or Main Feature extraction with MTR?

gmalarkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:53 pm

Post by gmalarkey » Thu May 10, 2007 4:18 pm

not yet. got the newest mac deal goin on here. OS 10.1 billion or something. but should i try MTR? i just seemed like i was one of the only ones havin probs. was't sure if it was me or the comp.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Thu May 10, 2007 4:37 pm

I assume you mean OS X 10.4.9?

You can try MTR, do a full disc extraction to your hard drive and then try and rip from that.

glen.leaf

Pirates of the Caribbean: Black Pearl

Post by glen.leaf » Fri May 11, 2007 2:34 pm

Pirates of the Caribbean: Black Pearl

No problem ripping but the audio drops after 24 minutes when encoding with HandBrake Version 0.8.5b1 (2007042301) & the HB-AppleTV Preset on a MacBook (OSX 10.4.9)

Not only does the audio drop but the movie jumps ahead. It plays for about a minute then the movie starts over. Plays a while longer then jumps ahead again. All with no audio.

I ripped it with MRT 2.6.6 with default settings and encoded it with HandBrake Version 0.8.5b1 (2007042301) & the HB-AppleTV Preset on a MacBook. It had audio drop out. Sorry but I can't remember any detail.

I then transfered the folder created by MTR to my Windows partition. (Windows XP Home via BootCamp.) I ran FixVTS on the folder.

I encoded it with HandBrake Version 0.8.5b1 (2007042301) & the HB-AppleTV Preset on a MacBook with the folder on the Windows partition as the source. Again it had audio drop out. Again I don't have any more detail.

I used MPEG Streamclip Version 1.8 to fix the timecode breaks on the folder on the Windows partition.. Encoded it with HandBrake Version 0.8.5b1 (2007042301) & the HB-AppleTV Preset on a MacBook. Again it had audio drop out.

This is where I am.

Any suggestions?

I have tried to be as detailed as possible.

I am going to start from scratch.

EDIT:

I encoded it with HandBrake Version 0.8.5b1 (2007042301) & the HB-AppleTV Preset on a MacBook straight from the DVD without any problems.
Last edited by glen.leaf on Thu May 17, 2007 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Fri May 11, 2007 2:56 pm

There are a whole slew of threads on the Audio drop out issue, try looking at those. This seems to be known issues although I am not sure there is any fix for it.

Let me guess though, you're on an Intel Mac, right?

gmalarkey
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:53 pm

Post by gmalarkey » Fri May 11, 2007 2:57 pm

baggss wrote:I assume you mean OS X 10.4.9?

You can try MTR, do a full disc extraction to your hard drive and then try and rip from that.
yep that's what i got. i'll try that out and thanks alot for the help.

glen.leaf

Pirates of the Caribbean: Black Pearl

Post by glen.leaf » Fri May 11, 2007 3:40 pm

MacBook Intel Core Duo

dynaflash
Veteran User
Posts: 3820
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 8:19 pm

Post by dynaflash » Fri May 11, 2007 3:57 pm

Try a test rip using ffmpeg. I have a suspicion it could be x264 specific possibly.

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Re: Pirates of the Caribbean: Black Pearl

Post by deckeda » Sat May 12, 2007 2:58 am

glen.leaf wrote:Pirates of the Caribbean: Black Pearl
I just did this one last week. Some details:
Main Feature extraction, no foreign languages included, with MTR 3.0r14d on a G5 PowerMac. HandBrake Version 0.8.5b1 & the HB-AppleTV Preset with 2-pass added and anamorphic. DPLII audio track, 48k sample rate/160kbps bitrate.

One thing I noticed about this movie is that there's another big title MTR might have ripped instead. It shows as like 1.5hr length instead of the movie's 2hr20min length. Pick the wrong one and you get (obviously) a truncated movie that skips scenes all the way through.

Somewhere in your future is an external DVD drive in a FireWire case. Not saying this is the problem, but the MacBook DVD drives are reputed to be junk at ripping.

jediracer
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by jediracer » Mon May 14, 2007 4:13 pm

the matrix

won't work. wouldn't even load!

l_e_it
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 16, 2007 2:41 am

Post by l_e_it » Wed May 16, 2007 2:43 am

adaptation

and

himalaya

can't get them to rip, can anyone confirm these?

Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious » Wed May 16, 2007 3:55 am

jediracer wrote:the matrix

won't work. wouldn't even load!
The Matrix works fine, read my post under No Audio Sticky.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed May 16, 2007 4:38 am

The Matrix worked fine for me under 0.7.1 and 0.8.0 Beta 1.....

jacktom
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu May 17, 2007 6:07 pm

Post by jacktom » Thu May 17, 2007 6:37 pm

Let me add Babe, Ice Age 2, Shrek. On the first 2 I wouldn't get all the tracks. On Shrek it stopped after 10 minutes.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Fri May 18, 2007 12:28 am

Shrek worked fine for me. I'll list the other 2 though.

Cavalicious
Moderator
Posts: 1804
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:07 am

Post by Cavalicious » Fri May 18, 2007 3:41 am

baggss,

Is the list suppose to be movies that won't encode due to Zero Cells?

I ask because the following movies on the list worked fine for me:

-Casino Royal (ArcOS & RipGuard)
-Pursuit of Happiness
-Curse of the Golden Flower

...All worked fine with MTR 3r14d (Full Disk Extraction) and many different versions of HB. (currently working with r579).

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Fri May 18, 2007 3:54 am

Yes, it is.

Casino Royal in particular has serious protection and requires MTR r14d or DTOX to rip. I tried it with HB and it got nowhere, so I know it has issues. Then again, I was suing a region 1 DVD, so this could vary. The same is true for the Pursuit of Happiness.

Any title that shows the protection on it is one that I have personally tried.

The others are Movies that have either been as having zero cells either in this thread or threads at the MTR forums.

BenBB
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 10:40 pm

Re: Update on Windows Fix

Post by BenBB » Tue May 22, 2007 10:55 pm

myronaiii wrote:I just wanted to give an update on a fix (on the PC) I posted earlier that worked once. The fix has worked successfully on two movies that had zero cell problems, and I think it's safe to say it will work for anyone else.

1. Used RipItForMe (and DVD Decrypter) to put the VOB files for the movie on my hard drive (I transfered the movie and only the movie).

2. Then I ran FixVTS, which seemed to clear the zero cells.

3. Used Handbrake to Rip from the "fixed" VOB files on my hard drive (still tell handbrake you're ripping from DVD, not ISO).
I had trouble with Huevos 7 but the above worked, although the version of RipItForMe I used called DVD Decryptor and FixVTS sequentially (I had downloaded those also), when it was done Handbrake had no problems converting to MPEG-4 to watch on a PSP (must set threads=1:level=21). Nothing else worked; not AnyDVD (at least the 21-day trial), DVD43, DVD2One (again a trial version), PSP Video 9, etc. etc. anything and everything I could find for PC couldn't handle it but RipItForMe/DVD Decryptor/FixVTS did. THANKS!!!

Crackers
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 4:10 am

Post by Crackers » Fri May 25, 2007 4:31 am

Hi guys, Would like to add Deja Ve to the list. I have tried all the method that have been discussed on the zero cell topic with no luck. HB rips it but thru out the movie there are snippits of the extras.

Tried mac the ripper then DVD2onex removed the zero cells but still no luck. Tried DVD decrypter, no luck either. I have even tried VLC to select the individual VOB files so I could stitch them together, but no luck.

Would be interested to see if anyone else is having the same problems?


Cheerio.

Crackers

Rockstar22
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 10:35 pm

Post by Rockstar22 » Fri May 25, 2007 10:37 pm

Something weird, but I found that after I tried to rip Stranger than Fiction the first time, I restarted my computer and it ripped the movie fine. Not sure if this is enough to remove it from the list, but it's just a heads up to those that might want to try, I got lucky I suppose.

Nonsanity
Moderator
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 4:34 am

Post by Nonsanity » Fri May 25, 2007 11:28 pm

I've had no luck getting a good conversion of Chicken Little or Madagascar. Both have zero cells, but even removing them with DVD2OneX doesn't result in a good convert. Anyone have any luck with these?

Locked