READ ME / POST HERE if a specific DVD/Movie won't rip

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Locked
baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

READ ME / POST HERE if a specific DVD/Movie won't rip

Post by baggss » Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:17 pm

I'd like to use this thread as a repository for a list of movies that HandBrake has known issues with:

PLEASE PROVIDE DETAILS: What version of HB, settings, work arounds tried.

Also understand that this list is somewhat historical; it would be very helpful if anyone could cross off any titles from this list by trying them with HandBrake's latest code. Similarly, confirmation of issues with any titles mentioned in this thread since January 9, 2008, would be useful to update this list.

Movies
-4D Man
-40 Year Old Virgin
-All The Kings Men
-Apocalypto
-An American Haunting
-Art School Confidential
-Babe
-Becoming Jane
-BEE
-Blades of Glory
-BEE Movie
-Casino Royal (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-Chicken Little
-Chocolate (No zero cells but I have been unable to rip it with anything)
-Cinderella 3
-Curse of the Golden Flower
-Deja Ve
-Dr Zhivago Disc 2 (ARccOS - Can be ripped with HB 0.7.1)
-Employee of the Month (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-Enchanted
-Friends With Money
-Fun With [Censored] and Jane
-Futurama: "The Beast With A Billion Backs"
-Gridiron Gang
-Grumpier Old Men
-Hair Spray (awaiting confirmation)
-Happily N'ever After
-Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
-Hostel (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-Ice Age 2
-Lords of Dog Town
-Madagascar
-Marie Antoinette
-Monster House
-Mrs. Palfrey at the Claremont.
-Mulan (Special Addition)
-Open Season
-Over the Hedge
-Pink Panther
-Pirates of the Caribbean 2
-Pursuit of Happiness
-Ratatouille (Rips with HB 0.9.2)
-Rent
-Rocky Balboa (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-Running With Scissors
-RV
-Saw III
-SawIV
-Shoot 'Em Up
-Star Wars: Clone Wars
-Stomp the Yard
-Stranger than Fiction (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-Talladega Nights (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-The Cave
-The Condemned
-The Davinci Code (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-The Descent
-The Devil Wears Prada (ARccOS & RipGuard)
-The Eye
-The Grudge 2
-The Holiday
-The Incredible Lightness of Being (Disc 2)
-The Langoliers
-The Last Mimzy
-The Prestige
-The Royal Tennenbaums
-The Sound of Music (40th Anv Edition).
-The U.S. -Vs. John Lennon
-They Might Be Giants
-Things To Do In Denver When You're Dead
-Tomb Raider (Rips with HB 0.9.1)
-Underworld Evolutions
-Untraceable
-Vantage Point
-Wallace & Gromit Curse of the Were-Rabbit
-Zoom

-Pearl Jam - Immagine in Cornice
-Rage Against The Machine - The Battle of Mexico City

TV Shows
-The Tick vs. Season One
-Friends Season 1, Disk 1, Episode 1
-Cowboy Bebop Remix Discs 4, 5 and 6, possibly Discs 1-3.
-The Simpsons Season 10 Discs 2 & 4.
-Earth 2 (Pilot Episode)
-My So Called Life (Disc 1)
-Ren & Stimpy Season 1 & 2, Disc 1
-Weeds (Season 3)

-Battlestar Galactica (New Series), unsure what season:
1.Scattered
5.The Farm
9.Flight of the Phoenix
13.Epiphanies

Post them as you find them.
Last edited by baggss on Sat Aug 30, 2008 1:48 am, edited 60 times in total.
Reason: Notes that it's been awhile since the list was updated.

Mercury Glitch
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 12:58 am

Post by Mercury Glitch » Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:33 pm

you can rip Saw 3 and probably any other titles up there that "require" the next release of MTR.

Here's how

1) get fairmount, it's free and part of the dvdremaster package.
2) insert DVD
3) open fairmount
4) run fairmounted disk through DTOX, removing zero cells.
5) run the output through MF/HB.

done.

you don't even need MTR, I know this works for Saw 3 as it's how I ripped my copy of it.

umdterrapins
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 3:27 am

Post by umdterrapins » Mon Feb 19, 2007 2:57 am

Fun With [Censored] and Jane

hawkman
Veteran User
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:46 pm

Post by hawkman » Tue Feb 20, 2007 3:47 pm

Cars will rip fine with MF (at least, the region 2 version will) despite making MTR choke.

leon
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2007 6:58 pm

Post by leon » Tue Feb 20, 2007 4:51 pm

Mercury,

I use DTOX (DVD2OneX), too, but it's important to point out that it costs 40 Euro for the version that can skip Zero Cells on content that is longer than 2 hrs. Important, I say, since everything else in my stack, so far, has been completely uncrippled shareware or freeware.

Kurtz
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 6:52 pm

Post by Kurtz » Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:12 pm

Hi
Ive found that MTR will rip Talladega Nights if you use Title only extraction. you just have to join the audio and video together and convert. Not perfect and very time consuming but a kind of work around.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:58 pm

TD Nights ripped just fine using the MTR/DTOX method.

I removed "Snakes on a Plane". I ripped it last night with MF just fine.

divinevelocity
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:27 pm

Post by divinevelocity » Wed Feb 21, 2007 10:39 pm

what's zero cell? i searched the forum only to come up with nada.

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda » Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:57 pm

I will butcher this answer but still hopefully give you the gist of it. Some commercial DVDs are made with empty cells --- cells with nothing in them.

DVD players are smart enough (dumb enough, probably more like it) to ignore or otherwise pass over them, but rippers are not, because rippers aren't playing the video stream but instead attempting to extract each piece of the puzzle.

An empty cell (or zero cell) either confuses the ripper or else slows it way down, and creates a problem later when trying to play it back.

It's a copy-protection tool, in case that isn't obvious.

Some rippers can see empty cells but must be told to ignore them. The most common one for this is DVD2OneX (for Macs, I guess Windows users have their own).

I've also seen (I think) the ability to uncheck empty cells in MacTheRipper but never hear of anyone using it for that. I guess I'm mistaken about MTR's ability there.

Where it gets "interesting" is when an almost-empty cell might still be "empty enough." Most empty cells are in fact 0kb in size; I've read that some are 2-3kb. That said, many DVDs have a few very small cells of about 2-4kb that are not culprits and should still be included in a rip. YMMV, etc.

Somebody please correct me on any of this, a topic I barely know anything about!

myronaiii
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:18 am

what about for PC?

Post by myronaiii » Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:19 am

Does anyone know a work around this using any program and then HB for windows?

myronaiii
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:18 am

Post by myronaiii » Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:16 am

The Prestige

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Sat Feb 24, 2007 5:41 am

myronaiii wrote:The Prestige
Added.

No, sorry I don't know of any Windows work abounds. I would recommend browsing this forum at iLounge.

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:57 am

Can anyone confirm Superman Returns?

rent
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 6:38 pm

Post by rent » Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:15 am

Rent

kevinbal
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2007 4:20 am

Post by kevinbal » Mon Feb 26, 2007 1:16 pm

baggss wrote:Can anyone confirm Superman Returns?
Baggs, I had no issues encoding Superman Returns with mediafork. I own the dvd, so I'm not sure about ripping it.

myronaiii
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:18 am

Star Trek Enterprise

Post by myronaiii » Mon Feb 26, 2007 6:05 pm

I wasn't able to get Star Trek Enterprise to work with HandBrake on the PC

jose_e_cuervo
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by jose_e_cuervo » Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:22 pm

Another movie with this problem: The Tick vs. Season One

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:30 pm

jose_e_cuervo wrote:Another movie with this problem: The Tick vs. Season One
IS that the name of the Movie?

jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Post by jbrjake » Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:58 pm

baggss wrote:
jose_e_cuervo wrote:Another movie with this problem: The Tick vs. Season One
IS that the name of the Movie?
Yes =)

http://www.amazon.com/Tick-Vs-Season-One/dp/B000FS9MVK

(Ben Edlund is a god.)

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:34 am

Ah...the TIC TV show.....

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Re: Star Trek Enterprise

Post by baggss » Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:36 am

myronaiii wrote:I wasn't able to get Star Trek Enterprise to work with HandBrake on the PC
Can anyone else confirm this one?

golias
Regular User
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:29 pm

Post by golias » Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:47 pm

The new 5.1 "Cowboy Bebop Remix" disks, beginning with disk 4 and possibly including later pressings of 1-3.

(This was the disk which provoked my purchase... er... I mean "donation to the beta project in exchange for" Mac the Ripper 3.0)

golias
Regular User
Posts: 105
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 7:29 pm

Post by golias » Tue Feb 27, 2007 9:50 pm

baggss wrote:Ah...the TIC TV show.....
Actually, it's season 1 (minus an episode) of the Tick animated series.

There was also a prime-time live-action version of "The Tick", which is also on DVD, and does not have bad sectors.

benornoel
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:24 pm

Post by benornoel » Thu Mar 01, 2007 2:41 pm

I think I'm having the same problem with the LOST Season 1 Disc 1 DVD. I've tried following Mercury's description on what to do. Unfortunately whenever I use the load Image/Folder option, I get the error "No valid title found." I've tried with disks, folders, after using DVD2onex2, MacTheRipper, FairMount....the whole gamut.

jbrjake
Veteran User
Posts: 4805
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:38 am

Post by jbrjake » Thu Mar 01, 2007 3:10 pm

benornoel wrote:I think I'm having the same problem with the LOST Season 1 Disc 1 DVD.
Whatever problem you're having, it's not this.

I happened to have this disc right beside me, so I just tested it out. Scanning takes awhile but it loads fine, right from the DVD...

Locked