0.9.4 Works :-) 0.9.5 Doesn't :-(

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
jimccjr

0.9.4 Works :-) 0.9.5 Doesn't :-(

Post by jimccjr »

Hello,

I am a total novice with all of this. I have been using 0.9.4 to convert video files for playing on my Sony BDP-S570 (via the USB input). This process has worked flawlessly.
When I upgraded to 0.9.5, the files no longer play. Is there some simple setting that was changed?

• As a novice, I never adjust any default settings. I just load the file and click Start
• 0.9.4 (still on my laptop) continues to created files that play fine. 0.9.5 (on my iMac) creates the unplayable files.
• The Sony BDP-S570 will play either .mp4 or .m4v

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks!
s55
HandBrake Team

Re: 0.9.4 Works :-) 0.9.5 Doesn't :-(

Post by s55 »

Try setting a hard framerate. If that works, feel free to complain to sony that their software isn't supporting VFR content correctly.
jimccjr

Post by jimccjr »

Thanks s55. Your suggestion worked!
The default setting is "same as source" so I'm confused why setting a hard frame rate to the value that is "same as source" would make a difference, but like I said, I'm a total novice!
s55
HandBrake Team

Post by s55 »

Your output was VFR when Same as source was set. Setting it to a hard level made it CFR.

HandBrake used to incorrectly flag VFR as CFR and players generally worked better when we had this bug. Now that it's fixed, we are seeing a surprising number of broken players.

Fwiw, might want to check for software updates, I know some players have fixed issues.
Rodeo
HandBrake Team

Post by Rodeo »

Same as source means variable framerate (even if the actual framerate is constant).
Phobia

Post by Phobia »

Just for the record, the same thing happens when trying to play your encoded content with Playstation 3