Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
face
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:42 pm

Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

Post by face »

Hi,
i'm using AppleTV 2 preset.
Now i see that while Source: 720x576 the Output: 720x304
What does it mean ?
That output frame will be reduced / cropping ?
Image
jamiemlaw
Veteran User
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 4:52 pm

Re: Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

Post by jamiemlaw »

In this case, there are three things affecting the output size: the cropping, the modulus and the anamorphic type. Cropping "chips bits off the edges", modulus "rounds to the nearest", and the anamorphic type I can't really explain in a short sentence, but I can see that you turned it off. That's why your output height is so low. I would recommend that you turn it back on, preferably to "strict".
face
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:42 pm

Re: Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

Post by face »

Thanks for the reply.
I unfortunately thought that just click on Apple TV 2 presets should be fine ...

CROP
Picture Cropping is set to auto and 'delete' (is it correct ?) 70 up 70 down 2 left 2 right (pixel), is it right ?
If i choose manual i can change to 0 all these values ? But in these way i could not mantain the exact DVD ratio ?

MODULUS
i see that changing these values not changes a lot for output pixel
Any more help on that ?
Is it preferable to leaves always modules on 16 ?

ANAMORPHIC
Yes is it true i setup to NONE so i have opuput heght so low (in this way i'll loose many up and down images, is it correct) ?
I'll have to setup always strict ??
I see that in this way also lenght will be chance to 1018
I'll have 1018x436
but in this way also the exact ratio isn't mantained

I'm a bit confused ...
face
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu May 27, 2010 12:42 pm

Re: Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

Post by face »

I'm reading carefully here:
http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/AnamorphicGuide
Seems the best way to encode a dvd is turn on Anamorphic and setup on strics, as you suggested.

I'm still a bit confused and some more words on my previous questions are highly app

Is it possible to pass the old video ripped and change the Anamorphic from off to on (i think no, obviously :) ) ?
thompson
Bright Spark User
Posts: 356
Joined: Sat Dec 12, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

Post by thompson »

face wrote:Is it possible to pass the old video ripped and change the Anamorphic from off to on (i think no, obviously :) ) ?
No.
User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 12677
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Source: 720x576 Output: 720x304 is it ok ?

Post by Rodeo »

face wrote:ANAMORPHIC
Yes is it true i setup to NONE so i have opuput heght so low (in this way i'll loose many up and down images, is it correct) ?
Then you chnaged it. The AppleTV 2 preset uses Loose anamorphic.
face wrote:I'll have to setup always strict ??
I see that in this way also lenght will be chance to 1018
I'll have 1018x436
but in this way also the exact ratio isn't mantained
Yes, it is. Anamorphic Strict preserves the exact source dimensions and AR. The reason it's not 1024x576 is because of cropping.
Post Reply