Handbrake tells me I'm done after two minutes

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
Roger in Charleston
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:03 pm

Handbrake tells me I'm done after two minutes

Post by Roger in Charleston » Tue May 08, 2007 8:11 pm

I've been using Handbrake 0.7 for about a year with no problems. Today I started to rip two DVDs after about two minutes it tells me I'm done. I check the file and of course its only got about 20-30 seconds in it. I thought maybe it was some new copy protection and tried another. Same thing, so I uninstalled 0.7 and downloaded and installed 0.8.5. Same result.

Any ideas what is going on? The only thing I can think is different in any way is last night I came in and my daughter had put in a DVD my mother had asked her to rip which was a copy of a sermon from her church. The beachball was spinning and had been for over an hour. I had to forcequit and ultimately do a hard shut down to get it to stop. I don't know if that damaged the optical drive. If i stick these DVDs in to watch they play fine.

Roger

Roger in Charleston
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:03 pm

Post by Roger in Charleston » Wed May 09, 2007 12:43 am

For some reason I find I can rip the CD with no problem if I start with Chapter 2. Of course, it means I miss the start. Any suggestions?

Roger

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed May 09, 2007 2:31 am

What is the movie in question? Home made movies have lots of issues with HB.

Did you read the sticky thread about Zero Cell movies? Maybe you should.

deckeda
Regular User
Posts: 138
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:38 am

Post by deckeda » Wed May 09, 2007 7:21 am

Yeah, if the DVD came straight from a camcorder or was transferred to DVD privately from the church's videographer, all bets are off. Something like that might not conform quite to spec even though it plays fine in a DVD player. Software rippers and DVD players approach things from a different perspective.

Roger in Charleston
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:03 pm

Post by Roger in Charleston » Wed May 09, 2007 8:14 am

The movies I am having problems with are Talledaga Nights and Casino Royale. Both are newly released commercial. Also tried to rip on my son's brand new Macbook with same results, so it's not my optical drive. May be a new copy protection?

Roger

baggss
Moderator
Posts: 886
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:21 am

Post by baggss » Wed May 09, 2007 1:54 pm

Both are on the Zero Cell list for known copy protection. Both have issues with HB.

Read the sticky at the top of this forum.

Roger in Charleston
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 8:03 pm

Post by Roger in Charleston » Thu May 10, 2007 2:07 am

baggss wrote:Both are on the Zero Cell list for known copy protection. Both have issues with HB.

Read the sticky at the top of this forum.
Yes. After reading the thread on zero cell issues, I have concluded the church video misfire was a coincidence or red herring. I will have to check out MTR.

Thanks for the assistance.

Roger

robbiebushe
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 8:53 pm

Post by robbiebushe » Sun May 13, 2007 8:54 pm

Roger in Charleston wrote:The movies I am having problems with are Talledaga Nights and Casino Royale. Both are newly released commercial. Also tried to rip on my son's brand new Macbook with same results, so it's not my optical drive. May be a new copy protection?

Roger
Yes i have just tried Casino Royal and the same thing happened to me. This after mac the ripper failed as well - must be new encoding...

Post Reply