Handbrake Vs little or no loss of quality?

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
EightyEight

Handbrake Vs little or no loss of quality?

Post by EightyEight »

Yes another noob here. I’ve been playing with the svn2592 build of Handbrake and Plex over the last week and so far I’ve had no problems. But the more I read the more I get confused or concerned about video quality and audio formats.

I want the best quality rips from my DVDs I can get with little or no loss of sound quality – as the MacMini (Running PLEX) will be connected to a home-cinema-receiver via an optical cable then the receiver will be connected to a 50" Plasma.

I’ve done some rips using various settings listed on these forums. I’ve settled on:
70% Consistent Quality
6 Reference frames
3 B-Frames
CABAC: Checked
Detelecine: Default
Decomb: Default
Anamorphic: Loose
Everything else untouched.

When it comes to Audio-settings I’m less convinced and have questions: I’ve tried ripping ‘The Bourne Identity’ which has a DTS audio track. This is where I get confused – I’ve read (on here I think) that a MacMini can’t output AAC through the optical cable – is this correct? Is AC3 better than AAC? And lastly, if I want to keep the DTS audio then should I be using MacTheRipper for those DTS disks instead of Handbrake? Likewise, should I be using Handbrake if I want the best quality possible?

I’ve search many forums about video and audio quality using Handbrake and got a whole bunch of different info. I hope someone can help me out.

Thanks in advance.
hunterk
Bright Spark User

Re: Handbrake Vs little or no loss of quality?

Post by hunterk »