Finest Rip

HandBrake for Mac support
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
bryancy

Finest Rip

Post by bryancy »

I am relatively new to handbrake and would like to rip some of my dvd's at the absolute highest quality possible. The movies will be stored on hard drives and played on a computer. file size and time to rip are not an issue: the best quality is the goal. On my initial settings I noticed some artifacting...

If it is possible to give advice on all the parameters that I should set for
1. Format (MP4, MKV, AVI, OGM)
2. Codec (ffmpeg, xvid, h.264)
3. Quality (target, average, constant? 62%)
4. Picture Settings
5. The Advanced Settings
6. Any thing else I might have missed ...

It would be nice if the resulting file played in Quicktime or DVD player, i.e. standard Mac software, but willing to entertain other software if it works as well.

Thanks_ I'm sure this simple but vital info will be useful to many!
kryten2001

Re: Finest Rip

Post by kryten2001 »

Hey mate.

This is a rather difficult question to answer, but I'll give it a crack for you. (And I'm assuming you want to convert to a single playable file - not ripping/reduplicating DVD's - that's not really what HB is for)....

It all depends on what you want to do with the output, really. If you want something to play back onto a large TV, you will need to pick a method of encoding which is friendly to large screens, as well as the devices you're likely to want to play the video back on. You won't be using a DVD player, you'll be using (most likely) either an AppleTV, a PVR type device, or maybe even a media centre.

The only reason (from my experience) that you need to figure this part out - is because it may determine what container (MKV, M4V/MP4) etc that you select. MKVs won't play on some devices, but will on others..