With upcoming changes to data protection and privacy laws in Europe coming into effect soon, we thought this would be a good time to remind everyone that we do have a privacy policy.
This applies to all users and visitors world-wide.

We have made a few changes to the language to make it clearer in relation to this new regulation but fundamentally, the terms and your rights are unchanged.

If you have any questions about this, please feel free to ask in the General Forum

Handbrake PHP Server

Archive of historical development discussions
Discussions / Development has moved to GitHub
Post Reply
dambergn
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:15 pm

Handbrake PHP Server

Post by dambergn » Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:22 pm

I am looking to create a video trans-coding server that uses handbrake but I don't want to use CLI to do so. What I was wondering is if there is some kind of PHP front end that could be installed in Linux on the trans-code server that I could use to load, setup and trans-code through a web browser from any computer I would like. Has anyone heard of this being done?

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2755
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Handbrake PHP Server

Post by rollin_eng » Thu Jan 07, 2016 9:28 pm

Why not just remote in and run HB?

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9106
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Handbrake PHP Server

Post by s55 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 10:01 pm

If I were going to implement this. I'd extend HandBrake to run in a daemon mode and use the new JSON API that's available in the nightly builds. There are plans to add multi-process support so a daemon isn't a stretch from there.

Thing is, HandBrake wasn't designed with security in mind, so it would be absolutely insane if the engine was exposed to the web in any way. Hooking it via the CLI is probably the safest option.

Post Reply