Patch for Opus support

Archive of historical development discussions
Discussions / Development has moved to GitHub
Post Reply
trldp
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 11:04 am

Patch for Opus support

Post by trldp » Tue Aug 04, 2015 11:28 am

I've made a patch with an encoder for Opus audio. You can find it on https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/287 ... oder.patch. It works with the CLI and GTK interface on Ubuntu.

Due to lack of Windows and Mac computers on my part, I was not able to test it for these interface. I suppose some work still needs to be done in order to disable certain sampling rates in these interfaces (the Opus codec only supports the sampling rates 8, 12, 16, 24 and 48 KHz).

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9255
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by s55 » Tue Aug 04, 2015 12:08 pm

No objections here. We have a code review board for submissions at reviews.handbrake.fr

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11952
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by Rodeo » Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:03 pm

s55 wrote:We have a code review board for submissions at reviews.handbrake.fr
Yes, please post it there. We can probably figure out the missing bits.

trldp
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 11:04 am

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by trldp » Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:46 pm

Unfortunately, I don't have an account on reviews.handbrake.fr, and I can't seem to find a 'register' button...

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9255
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by s55 » Tue Aug 04, 2015 4:58 pm

Sorry, try registering again.

Must have got turned off when we switched to a new server.

trldp
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Aug 04, 2015 11:04 am

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by trldp » Tue Aug 04, 2015 7:19 pm

Ok, I've posted it on the review board with the review group 'patches' (see https://reviews.handbrake.fr/r/845/)

Djfe
Bright Spark User
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:01 pm

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by Djfe » Fri Jul 15, 2016 1:01 am

What happened to the patch?
I tried the latest nightly and Opus sadly isn't an option, yet.

Was it postponed for some reason?

I would love to be able to encode my audio in opus, without passing my video through FFmpeg after having used Handbrake :)

Regards,
Djfe

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1426
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Patch for Opus support

Post by BradleyS » Fri Jul 15, 2016 6:04 am

I ported the original patch to current git a couple of weeks ago. It's still on our todo list to fully implement. See https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/issues/243

Post Reply