I'm volunteering UI design help

Archive of historical development discussions
Discussions / Development has moved to GitHub
Forum rules
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

jkauff
Experienced

I'm volunteering UI design help

Post by jkauff »

I'm a User Experience Designer in my day job. I use Handbrake regularly, and have some ideas about enhancements to the UI.

RandomEngy has done some good work on the Windows side with his VidCoder program. I think it would be great if HB had a consistent UI across all platforms, instead of the three different ones it has today.

First question is, are you open to suggestions? Second question is, how would I submit wireframe sketches illustrating my suggestions?

Third and most important question is, do you want to expand your user base? The folks who post on this board seem to be mostly sophisticated users who understand what the various settings in HB do, and have no problem finding and applying them. Are you interested in attracting more users who are less familiar with video processing, and just want to create the best-looking videos possible from their source material?

I work closely with developers and understand the balance that needs to be struck between user needs and development time and effort, so I'd need to understand a little more about the UI toolsets used on the different platforms so the devs aren't put in the position of having to create their own UI controls.

I'm very willing to help out if that help is wanted by the team.
s55
HandBrake Team

Re: I'm volunteering UI design help

Post by s55 »

I think it would be great if HB had a consistent UI across all platforms, instead of the three different ones it has today.