D.V.D. Scanning

Suggest features for HandBrake.
gat
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:37 am

D.V.D. Scanning

Postby gat » Mon Jan 03, 2011 7:49 am

I am not sure how this works, but when I scan a D.V.D. using the /dev/sr0 feature under menu under File I can get the name of the disc to appear as the suggested name of the video output for the file. Every other form of scanning that I have tried will not import the name. I have, admittedly briefly, tried to search the code for if this /dev/sr0 feature is a different call or how the name is found and used, but without avail. Is there a simple way to include this functionality whenever any method of scanning a D.V.D. (I have not tried this on any other source types) is used?

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 4723
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby JohnAStebbins » Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:48 pm

whenever any method of scanning a D.V.D. (I have not tried this on any other source types) is used?

It would help if you gave at least on explicit example. I have no idea what you're talking about.

gat
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:37 am

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby gat » Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:27 pm

When a D.V.D. is inserted in the computer and I choose to load it with Handbrake. Handbrake has "Automatically Scan DVD when loaded" on. This method fails to update the video name for output.
It also fails when I right-click the D.V.D. icon on my desktop and select Handbrake. ("folder (inode/directory)" is given as the type but there is no location given. I tried using the below locations to see if they were where the desktop icon linked, but apparently not)

The following ways are using the select source utility inside the Handbrake program.
Selecting /der/sr0 works perfectly.
Selecting /dev/dvd as the source loads the input video's name properly.
Selecting the disc in Nautilus' quick links section works as well.
Selecting /media/*name* or /media/*name*/VIDEO_TS both work as well.
I guess that the only way that is dysfunctional is the auto-loading way using Gnome's presets. Gnome must be using some shenaniganry to locate the disc for its presets.

gat
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:37 am

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby gat » Mon Jan 03, 2011 9:38 pm

As best as I can tell the "Automatically Scan DVD when loaded" feature does not make a difference as to this. The name of the source is acknowledge from the scan because it is reflected in the "Source: *name*" located in the upper-left corner of the window. I will "update" to the new 9.5 release version, I had figured from all of the trac happenings that it would be released tomorrow. I will update this post if 9.5 seems to resolve this.
I thank the Handbrake team for another release of a great application.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 4723
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby JohnAStebbins » Mon Jan 03, 2011 10:48 pm

Thanks, I'll look into those.

gat
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:37 am

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby gat » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:34 am

I'm still having the exact same results with Fedora 17 x86_64 & HandBrake 4529svn (x86_64).

Also, I was wondering what changes that you had made to the fixed size of the window? I have a 16:9 screen (1366*768) (it is the correct size on my Dell Studio 1555) & now the whole window fits before an encoding. Once an encoding begins, the progress bar makes the window too big for my resolution. If I resize to maximum, - which I can't do while encoding - then it fits the screen, even after unmaximizing.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 4723
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby JohnAStebbins » Fri Jun 08, 2012 5:26 pm

gat wrote:As best as I can tell the "Automatically Scan DVD when loaded" feature does not make a difference as to this. The name of the source is acknowledge from the scan because it is reflected in the "Source: *name*" located in the upper-left corner of the window. I will "update" to the new 9.5 release version, I had figured from all of the trac happenings that it would be released tomorrow. I will update this post if 9.5 seems to resolve this.
I thank the Handbrake team for another release of a great application.

Should be fixed in the next nightly build
https://trac.handbrake.fr/changeset/4722

gat
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:37 am

Re: D.V.D. Scanning

Postby gat » Sun Jun 24, 2012 5:44 pm

Yep. HandBrake 4741svn (x86_64) works with the titles now.


Return to “Feature Requests”

cron