Export to ProRes and/or DNxHD

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************

Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.

- This forum is now closed to new topics.
- Existing topics will remain open for a short while as the transition over occurs.
*******************************
Post Reply
THX1138
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:50 pm

Export to ProRes and/or DNxHD

Post by THX1138 » Sat Jul 29, 2017 4:54 pm

Please describe what you would like to see added to HandBrake:
I would like to see a default option for exporting to ProRes and DNxHD codecs or equivalents.

Why would you like to see this added:
I would like to use Handbrake to prepare files into a suitable format for editing.

What version of HandBrake are you currently running:
1.0.7, 64-bit

What operating system and version and you currently running (e.g. OSX 10.11, Windows 7, Ubuntu 14):
Windows 10

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Export to ProRes and/or DNxHD

Post by BradleyS » Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:09 pm

The nightly builds have Production presets that use x264 as an intermediate. Given HandBrake's pipeline is currently YCbCr 4:2:0, other codecs are not super well fitting at the moment. But we will definitely consider it for the future.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6191
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Export to ProRes and/or DNxHD

Post by mduell » Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:20 pm

Also the lack of good, open source encoders for either of those proprietary codecs.

User avatar
BradleyS
Moderator
Posts: 1427
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 12:16 pm

Re: Export to ProRes and/or DNxHD

Post by BradleyS » Sat Jul 29, 2017 6:22 pm

Libav does have a DNxHD encoder, but I haven't used it.

Post Reply