With upcoming changes to data protection and privacy laws in Europe coming into effect soon, we thought this would be a good time to remind everyone that we do have a privacy policy.
This applies to all users and visitors world-wide.

We have made a few changes to the language to make it clearer in relation to this new regulation but fundamentally, the terms and your rights are unchanged.

If you have any questions about this, please feel free to ask in the General Forum

Destination --> Same as Source

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************

Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.

- This forum is now closed to new topics.
- Existing topics will remain open for a short while as the transition over occurs.
*******************************
Post Reply
Luis
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:55 am

Destination --> Same as Source

Post by Luis » Sat Jul 22, 2017 12:02 pm

Please describe what you would like to see added to HandBrake:

The destination with a simple tick for "same as source".

Why would you like to see this added:

The actual destination does not support exporting to each of the files individual folder.

What version of HandBrake are you currently running:

1.07

What operating system and version and you currently running (e.g. OSX 10.11, Windows 7, Ubuntu 14):

OSX 10.11.6

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2561
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Destination --> Same as Source

Post by Woodstock » Sat Jul 22, 2017 2:40 pm

"Same as source" is a bad idea, because if you are not changing the file extension, you WILL delete your source files during the encode. Which is why the GUI does not encourage that.

Luis
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:55 am

Re: Destination --> Same as Source

Post by Luis » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:01 pm

The option is there for that time when you are converting to another format mate. A lot of apps contain that feature and I find it very useful. You need to know what you are doing before converting tho.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2755
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Destination --> Same as Source

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:04 pm

I think the Windows version you can set the default output path to same as source, not sure about Mac.

Luis
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:55 am

Re: Destination --> Same as Source

Post by Luis » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:19 pm

I've been checking some pictures in google images of HandBreak for windows and it does not seem like it. Are you a windows user?

This option meant to solve when you add several videos from different paths. So you don't have to move the files manually to each of the folders once the files are converted.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2755
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Destination --> Same as Source

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Jul 22, 2017 3:34 pm

Yep, in Windows you can set the default output to {source_path} in preferences.

Luis
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:55 am

Re: Destination --> Same as Source

Post by Luis » Sat Jul 22, 2017 4:39 pm

That's great. Not available on the OSX version.

Post Reply