DTS-HD Decoding

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
Rapscallion
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:10 pm

DTS-HD Decoding

Post by Rapscallion » Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:31 pm

I would LOVE to see Handbrake be able to truly decode a DTS-HD Lossless audio stream (not the core DTS Lossy stream) for encoding into FLAC (or whatever other audio codec you like). PLEASE MAKE THIS HAPPEN!!!

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6710
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: DTS-HD Decoding

Post by mduell » Sun Dec 11, 2016 7:44 pm

Why not passthrough? What supports FLAC but not DTS-HD?

WhosAsking
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: DTS-HD Decoding

Post by WhosAsking » Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:37 pm

I thought Handbrake already did DTS-MA decoding, meaning transcoding to FLAC is possible (some players can't do the lossless part of DTS-MA plus it's a commercial codec so there are licensing issues, but FLAC is FOSS--spec is BSD, program is GPL).

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: DTS-HD Decoding

Post by JohnAStebbins » Tue Apr 11, 2017 6:00 pm

WhosAsking wrote:
Tue Apr 11, 2017 5:37 pm
I thought Handbrake already did DTS-MA decoding, meaning transcoding to FLAC is possible (some players can't do the lossless part of DTS-MA plus it's a commercial codec so there are licensing issues, but FLAC is FOSS--spec is BSD, program is GPL).
Only the DTS core is decoded. HandBrake uses libav for decoding and it doesn't have support for decoding the full DTS-HD stream.

Post Reply