Keep Handbrake.exe and CLI.exe separate processes in case of GUI crash

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
xov5dor
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:50 pm

Keep Handbrake.exe and CLI.exe separate processes in case of GUI crash

Post by xov5dor » Sun Sep 18, 2016 10:43 pm

version of HandBrake currently running: 0.10.5

operating system and version currently running: Windows 7


do not roll the CLI process into the GUI/Handbrake.exe process in upcoming versions of handbrake. if they are kept separate, the CLI can complete the encoding process if the GUI crashes. if a user does not end the .exe process when asked to close the program due to a crash/bug the encode will complete. this is handy if an encode has been going for a long time and a user does not want to restart that encode from the beginning. i had this happen to me while adding jobs to the queue.
Last edited by xov5dor on Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:59 am, edited 2 times in total.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3214
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Keep Handbrake.exe and CLI.exe separate processes for GUI

Post by Woodstock » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:12 am

The CLI isn't used by the GUI anymore, going forward. What the GUI used to call the CLI for is now a DLL that loads with HB, and is part of the GUI. Kill the GUI, and the operating system kills everything it owns.

xov5dor
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:50 pm

Re: Keep Handbrake.exe and CLI.exe separate processes for GUI

Post by xov5dor » Mon Sep 19, 2016 8:52 am

i forgot to insert that it were handy for a GUI crash. if the GUI crashes the CLI can complete the encode. that way a user will not have to start an encode over that has been encoding for a long time. the GUI has crashed numerous times while setting parameters and adding jobs to the queue while a job had been running for hours that had hours left.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6670
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Keep Handbrake.exe and CLI.exe separate processes in case of GUI crash

Post by mduell » Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:39 pm

Just use the CLI, skip the GUI entirely. It's a far better interface for stability and getting what you want.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9535
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Keep Handbrake.exe and CLI.exe separate processes in case of GUI crash

Post by s55 » Mon Sep 19, 2016 4:51 pm

The GUI should not be crashing when setting parameters. If it is, please raise bug reports.

We are not reversing this design decision as overall it's for the better. 1.1 or later will introduce process isolation which will have the same effect your looking for.

Post Reply