Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
Degru
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2016 4:37 am

Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Post by Degru » Tue Jun 28, 2016 4:41 am

Please describe what you would like to see added to HandBrake:
Use new ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder instead of the old ffmpeg AAC encoder that libav uses
Why would you like to see this added:
The new ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder has much higher quality than the old one. I have had pretty bad artifacts and distortions in the high frequencies with the current encoder.
What version of HandBrake are you currently running:
0.10.5 64-bit
What operating system and version and you currently running (e.g. OSX 10.11, Windows 7, Ubuntu 14):
Windows 10

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9546
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Post by s55 » Tue Jun 28, 2016 11:31 am

We don't use FFMPEG so this simply isn't an option.

If/when it gets merged to libav, we'll get it for free. Until then there is not much we can do.

Bnna
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2015 5:39 pm

Re: Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Post by Bnna » Sat Jul 16, 2016 4:02 pm

s55 wrote:We don't use FFMPEG so this simply isn't an option.
The important question would be why. I'm genuinely curious. As far as I can judge, both seem to be (mostly) interchangeable, especially because FFMPEG 'backports' a lot of commits from libav. I'm not a developer though.

Now that the AAC encoder in FFMPEG has matured, it is far beyond what Handbrake's current libav delivers, and I can't think of a better reason to switch. From what I know, the libav project seems to ignore FFMPEG so the chances of getting a better native AAC there anytime soon aren't too high.

So are there any specific technological reasons why libav can't be replaced by ffmpeg? Regressions? The need to rewrite parts of the code base?

This whole situation is unfortunate. Hopefully Opus ships sometime. After HEVC, might as well go for efficiency over compatibility and leave AAC behind.

Thanks for answers.

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6681
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Post by mduell » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:03 pm

Keyword being mostly. If you'd like to do the extensive work of switching from libav to ffmpeg and testing all edge and corner cases I bet you'd see a lot of interest in your proposed patch.

K@mpfH@mster
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2014 10:42 am

Re: Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Post by K@mpfH@mster » Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:17 am

@s55: I would like to see it too. Do you know someone or what is the page of libav, perhaps I could write there?

Djfe
Bright Spark User
Posts: 178
Joined: Tue May 13, 2014 8:01 pm

Re: Use ffmpeg 3.0 AAC encoder by default

Post by Djfe » Tue Jul 26, 2016 9:00 pm

I'm fairly certain, that they (should) know that the native aac encoder from FFmpeg is now stable, but I wasn't able to find a bug report about it.

Here you can find their bugzilla:
https://www.libav.org/bugreports/

And google is your friend ;)

Post Reply