Disable all previews

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************

Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.

- This forum is now closed to new topics.
- Existing topics will remain open for a short while as the transition over occurs.
*******************************
Post Reply
kormoc
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:15 pm

Disable all previews

Post by kormoc » Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:18 pm

Howdy folks,

Love the software, but one quick request. I never use the preview pictures at all, and it adds a few minutes to my workflow for something I don't use, so I would like to request to disable previews entirely.

Thanks!
~Rob

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9361
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Disable all previews

Post by s55 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 5:28 pm

the previews are still required even if you dont use the preview window. analysis is done on the images.

if you dont care about cropping then you could turn the number of images generated down in preferences

sstringer
New User
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:54 pm

Re: Disable all previews

Post by sstringer » Tue Mar 21, 2017 11:56 pm

I'll second this request. I never use previews and it can add many minutes to getting the rip going.

@s55 - FWIW, the minimum number of previews is 10. You cannot set to zero.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2925
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Disable all previews

Post by Woodstock » Wed Mar 22, 2017 6:38 pm

"I never use previews"

But handbrake does. As s55 says, "analysis is done on the images."

It may be semantics here - "preview" in the context of "how many previews" means individual frames used to make decisions on processing, while there is also the "preview" of encoding a short section before you finalize the settings.

Post Reply