Resume Encoding

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
Anamonde
Regular User
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:11 pm

Resume Encoding

Post by Anamonde »

Alright... so i'm sure we have all been in the situation when we are 90% done with our encode ... and the guests start to arrive and the missus wants the computer turned off cause it sounds like a jet engine (so unreasonable).

:P

It would be super sweet if there was a resume encode function... same as pause/resume... except you are able to shutdown your computer and continue at a later point.

I guess handbrake would need to save all the information it is holding to a tmp file and pick it up later so it can finish what it started.

Thanks for your consideration.
hawkman
Veteran User
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:46 pm

Post by hawkman »

As I understand it, this would be difficult - the current pause function would not scale to this. It's certainly something a lot of people would want, though (pretty sure it's been requested a few times before).

I believe if you sleep the computer - with HB still open - you can still resume when it wakes up. Maybe that would be acceptable for this particular situation?
Anamonde
Regular User
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:11 pm

Post by Anamonde »

I have an internal sata raid in my computer that likes dying when sleep is activated... obviously not a HB problem though so i'll just shud'up. :D

ps. i did do a search for this request before I posted, but could only find things related to the pause/resume button.
hawkman
Veteran User
Posts: 609
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 9:46 pm

Post by hawkman »

Anamonde wrote:I have an internal sata raid in my computer that likes dying when sleep is activated...
Ah, bugger. This would certainly be a desirable feature in HB, though (resuming after shutdown, not killing your raid system ;) ).
Post Reply