scan-only option

Archive of historical feature requests.
Please use the GitHub link above to report issues.
Forum rules
*******************************
Please be aware we are now using GitHub for issue tracking and feature requests.
- This section of the forum is now closed to new topics.

*******************************
Post Reply
ohnsac
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:22 am

scan-only option

Post by ohnsac »

It would be pretty nifty if HandBrakeCLI had an option to only perform the 'scan' pass. The output can be pretty helpful, particularly in batch process where you want to get information to use in a second call.

For example:
HandBrakeCLI -i dvdvideo.iso | script-to-parse-scan-output
HandBrakeCLI -i dvdvideo.iso -o dvdvideo.mp4 "options based upon previous script output"
rhester
Veteran User
Posts: 2888
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2006 10:24 pm

Re: scan-only option

Post by rhester »

-t 0

Rodney
ohnsac
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2009 4:22 am

Re: scan-only option

Post by ohnsac »

OH, neat. Thanks!
secretsubscr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:16 pm

Re: scan-only option

Post by secretsubscr »

Hello
I'm using windows 7 and I haven't been able to redirect the output of the scan to a text file. This is what I'm doing:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Handbrake>handbrakecli -i D:\dvd\ALIEN_3_DISC1\VIDEO_TS\ -t 0 > C:\output.txt
Is it possible to capture the output.
What I'd like to do is automatically create MKV files that include all available audio and subtitle tracks. I want to run the scan, parse the output, and run the conversion.

Thanks
mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 8196
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: scan-only option

Post by mduell »

The information you desire goes to stderr, not stdout.

Code: Select all

handbrakecli -i D:\dvd\ALIEN_3_DISC1\VIDEO_TS\ -t 0 2> C:\output.txt
should work.

Or you could just specify a large number of tracks and you'll get the ones that exist.
secretsubscr
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 6:16 pm

Re: scan-only option

Post by secretsubscr »

Ah. Thanks for info.
Troy Cheek
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:02 pm

Re: scan-only option

Post by Troy Cheek »

In nightly build 3380, I noticed this:

Code: Select all

--scan    Scan selected title only.
Deleted User 11865

Re: scan-only option

Post by Deleted User 11865 »

Troy Cheek wrote:In nightly build 3380, I noticed this:

Code: Select all

--scan    Scan selected title only.
Correct. Now you can scan just a single title instead of all titles - this way added several weeks ago, IIRC.

So you do something like this:

Code: Select all

-t 28 --scan
to scan title 28.
Post Reply