Page 1 of 1

x264 CPU Capabilities

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 12:42 pm
by themono
Hi -

I just compiled SVN handbrake on my AMD64 Kubuntu machine. I'm using a core 2 duo, but x264 reports it is not using any cpu capabilities, which, I would imagine, would rather slow things down.

I do have yasm installed, but during the compile x264 still says something along the lines of no suitable assembler, several times slower, etc.

Any tips of what I need to do? Thanks.

Re: x264 CPU Capabilities

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 2:04 pm
by jbrjake
I'm going to guess your copy of yasm is out of date.

Re: x264 CPU Capabilities

Posted: Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:58 pm
by themono
And you'd be right. Thanks very much.

For anyone who stumbles across this page with my same problem - the version of yasm provided in ubuntu hardy is only 0.5, whereas the newest is 0.7.1. This compiles fine, and then allows x264 to compile fine in turn.

I now get "x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX MMX2 SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 Cache64", and the FPS has jumped in the first pass from 8-10 up to an average of 30. So well worth the recompile!

Re: x264 CPU Capabilities

Posted: Thu Nov 06, 2008 10:47 pm
by xanders
Hi Guys i have a problem with x264 detecting my CPU Capabilities

i Have yasm Installed on the machine my OS is Ubuntu 8.10
Yasm Version.

Code: Select all

xanders@xanders-laptop:~$ yasm --version
yasm 0.7.1.2093
Compiled on Jul 12 2008.
Copyright (c) 2001-2008 Peter Johnson and other Yasm developers.
Run yasm --license for licensing overview and summary.
xanders@xanders-laptop:~$ 
Piece of the Encode when detect CPU Cap. using Snapshot build 4 and a version Compiled Myself
It's Only Detecting MMX2 Cache64.

Code: Select all

x264 [warning]: frame MB size (64x36) > level limit (1620)
x264 [warning]: MB rate (57600) > level limit (40500)
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 Cache64
x264 [info]: profile Main, level 3.0
Any other suggestion would be great thanks guys.

Re: x264 CPU Capabilities

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 12:17 am
by JohnAStebbins
What kind of cpu do you have? I just tried on 2 systems running Ubuntu 8.10. one is a core 2 duo and the other it a core 2 quad. One is running i686 and the other x86_64. Both get the following caps:

Code: Select all

x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 Cache64
Perhaps you have an amd cpu or an older intel?

Re: x264 CPU Capabilities

Posted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 3:10 am
by xanders
JohnAStebbins wrote:What kind of cpu do you have? I just tried on 2 systems running Ubuntu 8.10. one is a core 2 duo and the other it a core 2 quad. One is running i686 and the other x86_64. Both get the following caps:

Code: Select all

x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 Cache64
Perhaps you have an amd cpu or an older intel?
Sorry for not specified the CPU info.
i run this command to get this CPU info

Code: Select all

grep cores /proc/cpuinfo
cpu cores	: 2
cpu cores	: 2


for a Specific core
Core 1

Code: Select all

model		: 14
model name	: Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2050  @ 1.60GHz
cpu MHz		: 1595.982
cpuid level	: 10
bogomips	: 3191.96
processor	: 1
model		: 14
model name	: Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2050  @ 1.60GHz
cpu MHz		: 1595.982
core id		: 1
apicid		: 1
initial apicid	: 1
cpuid level	: 10
bogomips	: 3192.11
Core 2

Code: Select all

model name	: Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2050  @ 1.60GHz
cpu MHz		: 1595.982
cache size	: 2048 KB
siblings	: 2
cpu cores	: 2
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc arch_perfmon bts pni monitor est tm2 xtpr
model name	: Genuine Intel(R) CPU           T2050  @ 1.60GHz
cpu MHz		: 1595.982
cache size	: 2048 KB
siblings	: 2
cpu cores	: 2
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx constant_tsc arch_perfmon bts pni monitor est tm2 xtpr
bogomips	: 3192.11
i hope that helps thanks.