AMD GPU (RX570) Not Being Used by Handbrake for Transcoding

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
NeutronJK
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:49 pm

AMD GPU (RX570) Not Being Used by Handbrake for Transcoding

Post by NeutronJK »

Description of problem or question:
Unable to get Handbrake to use my GPU (an AMD RX570) to transcode video.





Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
1. Installed amdgpu-pro-install software version 20.20 on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS.
2. Also installed amf-amdgpu-pro package.
3. Rebooted machine. AMD drivers appear to be working fine.
4. No option to use AMD GPU for encoding is visible in Handbrake.





HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0): 1.3.3




Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Ubuntu Linux version 20.04 LTS.





HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Code: Select all

[11:51:28] gtkgui: HandBrake 1.3.3 (2020061500) - Linux x86_64 - https://handbra
ke.fr
Cannot load libnvidia-encode.so.1
[11:51:28] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[11:51:28] hb_init: starting libhb thread
[11:51:28] hb_init: starting libhb thread
User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9904
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: AMD GPU (RX570) Not Being Used by Handbrake for Transcoding

Post by s55 »

Last I checked, there is no support for AMD GPU's on the Linux GUI. We have no linux UI developer with hardware to test so unless a patch comes in, it will remain a HandBrakeCLI only feature.

Given how problematic it is on linux, It may always stay that way for advanced users to tinker with only.
NeutronJK
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:49 pm

Re: AMD GPU (RX570) Not Being Used by Handbrake for Transcoding

Post by NeutronJK »

Gotcha. Can someone refer me to the instructions for using handbrake cli with an AMD encoder?
Post Reply