Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
hornetster
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:37 am

Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by hornetster » Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:42 am

Description of problem or question:
Originally had install from pakman, but uninstalled and installed the flatpak from the Handbrake site: HandBrake-1.2.2-x86_64.flatpak
Original (pacman) install, DID start, but would only show a "see-through" (ie could still see the desktop) window, and go no further.
Have also started a bug at github (https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/issues/2372), but no comments as yet.


Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):
When trying to run Handbrake (using the command line from the Icon installed in the Menu), get the following messages:

john@boss:~> /usr/bin/flatpak run --branch=stable --arch=x86_64 --command=ghb --file-foe.ghb @@ %f @@
Gtk-Message: Failed to load module "canberra-gtk-module"
Invalid MIT-MAGIC-COOKIE-1 key
(ghb:2): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :99.0


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
HandBrake-1.2.2-x86_64.flatpak



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Opensuse Leap15.1 x64, all updates applied.
KDE Plasma Version 5.12.8



HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)
There is no activity log being produced.

Code: Select all

Please replace this text with the contents of your log file between the two code tags - OR -  provide a pastebin URL in place of these 3 lines.

hornetster
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:37 am

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by hornetster » Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:46 am

PS.
canberra-gtk-module IS installed:
Version = 0.30-lp151.2.3-x86_64

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5469
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by JohnAStebbins » Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:35 pm

Appears to be the same as https://github.com/flatpak/flatpak/issues/2228

But the issue was closed with no clear resolution, so I'm not sure what the root cause is or proper solution.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5469
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by JohnAStebbins » Tue Oct 22, 2019 5:38 pm


hornetster
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:37 am

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by hornetster » Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:10 am

Changed UI to gnome.....
Works...

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5469
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by JohnAStebbins » Wed Oct 23, 2019 8:00 pm

hornetster wrote:
Wed Oct 23, 2019 1:10 am
Changed UI to gnome.....
Works...
hrmph. Thanks for the feedback. Not the best solution as lots of people love KDE. But glad you found a workaround. I'll certainly keep an eye out for other occurrences of this to see if a better solution materializes.

hornetster
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2018 10:37 am

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by hornetster » Thu Oct 24, 2019 9:33 am

***Not the best solution as lots of people love KDE. But glad you***

Yeah, well not really ANY solution, for me included... Only did it as a test, so if it can be solved, that would be GREAT!!

Would it be worth my while going on the KDE forum, do you think...?
Thanks.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5469
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Handbrake not starting after Flatpak install

Post by JohnAStebbins » Thu Oct 24, 2019 3:16 pm

Perhaps. It seems to be a problem across multiple flatpak apps so they may have seen it before.

Post Reply