When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
exodous
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:06 pm

When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by exodous » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:13 pm

Description of problem or question:
I noticed once I start encoding videos with HB, even when doing the entire disk, it quits reading. Does HB make a temporary backup of my disk on my computer and then pull from that? I have been making .iso files and then encoding from that, is that a wasted step? I just always thought it would be less wear on my drives if I made a .iso first.



Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable):




HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0):
1.1.0



Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.13 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update):
Linux Mint 19.1

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 3145
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by rollin_eng » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:54 pm

Could you please post your HB logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

mduell
Veteran User
Posts: 6629
Joined: Sat Apr 21, 2007 8:54 pm

Re: When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by mduell » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:59 pm

No.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3181
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by Woodstock » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:44 pm

Handbrake reads the data as it needs it. Your system, noticing how little RAM handbrake needs, probably has dedicated it to caching the ISO file, limiting how much it "seems" handbrake is reading.

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9522
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by s55 » Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:20 pm

Amount of Ram doesn't affect how HandBrake reads a source. The system will move into pagefile if there is insufficient memory.


HandBrake will be reading from the drive although it's probable that it'll be spinning quite slowly as you won't need the full 16x speed.

exodous
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 11:06 pm

Re: When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by exodous » Sun Apr 14, 2019 4:42 pm

Ok, I notice now that the light does go from solid to flashing. I'm encoding on a notebook so maybe the encoding is taking longer than the reading. I always ripped directly to .iso and then ripped from that as to not wear down my drive/media but if it is this gentle with them I might not make .iso files anymore.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 3181
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: When encoding from a DVD/bluray does HB make a back up and encode from that?

Post by Woodstock » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:15 pm

Tools designed for ripping, like MakeMKV and such, will read the optical as fast as it can be read, or as fast as the data can be written to the destination, if write speed is limited. They usually are about the same speed as programs that make ISOs, while removing the copy protection at the same time.

Operating like that DOES "back up" the media first, but it also takes away a number of stumbling blocks that handbrake isn't intended to deal with.

Post Reply