Error code 4 when adding subtitles

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
AlbertoBonfiglio
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 4:08 pm

Error code 4 when adding subtitles

Post by AlbertoBonfiglio » Wed Nov 28, 2018 4:20 pm

Hello,
Handbrake reports error 4 and encode failed if i select any subtitles

HandBrake version 1.12

Operating system and version Ubuntu 18.10

https://pastebin.com/4EFw3a2x

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9378
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Error code 4 when adding subtitles

Post by s55 » Wed Nov 28, 2018 6:36 pm

Where did you get this build of HandBrake from? If it's not from our PPA, please change to the official builds rather than using mallicious 3rd party builds.

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/1.1.0/get- ... brake.html

Take note of the section about fake builds

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5315
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Error code 4 when adding subtitles

Post by JohnAStebbins » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:49 pm

You also appear to be having some sort of problem writing to the network share you've selected as the destination. You should check that you have all necessary permissions to write to that location.

AlbertoBonfiglio
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 4:08 pm

Re: Error code 4 when adding subtitles

Post by AlbertoBonfiglio » Thu Nov 29, 2018 8:44 pm

Hi,
thanks for the replies.
This is the ppa. I think it's the right one . http://ppa.launchpad.net/stebbins/handb ... ses/ubuntu.
And if I use Iso instead of mkv (encoded with makemkv) all works fine so I am not sure it's a permission issue.
I'll try an encoding on the local drive just to make sure anyway and let you know!

Post Reply