Need help locating Russian in the list!

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
TitaniumCoder477
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:26 am

Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by TitaniumCoder477 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:31 am

Description of problem or question

I'm trying to identify Russian in the list of Audio Defaults > Available Languages, but I cannot find it! I Have tried looking for the obvious English transliteration (?) of "Russian" and also Google's translation "русский" and also "ру́сский язы́к" and also "rússkiy yazýk" but I'm out of luck!

Steps to reproduce the problem (If Applicable)


HandBrake version (e.g., 1.0.0)

1.0.4 (x86_64)

Operating system and version (e.g., Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, macOS 10.3 High Sierra, Windows 10 Creators Update)

Linux Mint (based on 16.04 I think)

Error message text or screenshot (If Applicable)

Provide a URL from any image hosting site.

HandBrake Activity Log ***required*** (see How-to get an activity log)

Use any pastebin website and provide the URL it generates
- or -

Code: Select all

Paste log text between these markers.
[code][/i]

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:53 am

Could you please post your logs, instructions can be found here:

https://handbrake.fr/docs/en/latest/hel ... y-log.html

User avatar
s55
HandBrake Team
Posts: 9267
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 1:05 pm

Re: Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by s55 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 10:56 am

There isn't going to be a log Rollin. This is a pre-log problem.

Also, it should just be called "Russian" in the language list. If it's really not there, there might be a bug.

rollin_eng
Veteran User
Posts: 2906
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 11:06 pm

Re: Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by rollin_eng » Sun Dec 31, 2017 11:05 am

It’s more of reaction, but it doesn’t hurt to confirm the version etc, to make sure you are not hunting for a bug in a broken version.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2818
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by Woodstock » Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:33 pm

Where did you get your copy of Handbrake? If it wasn't from the official handbrake download, it's anyone's guess as to where something might be. Packages provided on other sites are notorious for having (deliberately) broken features.

User avatar
JohnAStebbins
HandBrake Team
Posts: 5218
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2008 7:21 pm

Re: Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by JohnAStebbins » Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:59 pm

It should be "русский". The list shows only native language names, but is in alphabetical order sorted by the English traslation so it can be a difficult to find languages even when you are a native speaker. We should really show the English translation in parenthesis or something next to the native names.

TitaniumCoder477
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 5:26 am

Re: Need help locating Russian in the list!

Post by TitaniumCoder477 » Sun Dec 31, 2017 8:16 pm

Thanks! I must have scrolled past it a dozen times. Sure enough it was there as русский. My apologies.

(Also I downloaded the official version of Handbrake from handbrake.fr.)

Post Reply