With upcoming changes to data protection and privacy laws in Europe coming into effect soon, we thought this would be a good time to remind everyone that we do have a privacy policy.
This applies to all users and visitors world-wide.

We have made a few changes to the language to make it clearer in relation to this new regulation but fundamentally, the terms and your rights are unchanged.

If you have any questions about this, please feel free to ask in the General Forum

Handbrake only finds one title

Support for HandBrake on Linux, Solaris, and other Unix-like platforms
Forum rules
An Activity Log is required for support requests. Please read How-to get an activity log? for details on how and why this should be provided.
Post Reply
DwR
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:24 pm

Handbrake only finds one title

Post by DwR » Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:45 pm

Handbrake only finds one title

I'm trying to rip Scooby Soo, Complete season 1 & 2 DVDs.
Disc 1 has 7 episodes (titles).
When I have Handbrake scan the DVD, it finds ONE title, 19 seconds.
The preview shot looks distorted too.

I have used this computer/setup numerous times before without problems.

Any ideas?

DwR

HandBrake version (e.g., 0.10.2)


Ubuntu 16.04.2 LTS,

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11862
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by Rodeo » Tue Dec 19, 2017 11:20 pm

Scan log please.

DwR
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by DwR » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:04 am

Sorry, I thought I had pasted the link:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1DgIj_S ... sp=sharing

DwR
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by DwR » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:30 am

Also, I did install libdvd-pkg

here is what is said when I ran the command again:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
libdvd-pkg is already the newest version (1.4.0-1-1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 219 not upgraded.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11862
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by Rodeo » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:08 am

You're using a very old build. Also you're opening a file, not a DVD.

Try opening /media/ryan/SCOOBY_DOO_WHERE_ARE_YOU_DISC1/ instead of /media/ryan/SCOOBY_DOO_WHERE_ARE_YOU_DISC1/JACKET_P/

DwR
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by DwR » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:15 am

The build it was was in the Software Center for this version of Ubuntu.
Is there a CLI command to update Handbrake, or some way to do it within the program?
The Preferences -> General windows doesn't seem to have an Update option.

If I click on the DVD itself from the file browser it can't seem to find anything at all.

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2540
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by Woodstock » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:49 am

Then you downloaded a deliberately broken version of handbrake. You need to download from the official repository for Handbrake if you want a working copy.

https://handbrake.fr/downloads.php and follow the links.

DwR
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:24 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by DwR » Thu Dec 21, 2017 2:55 am

OK, deleted it and reinstalled from website, now I have versions 1.0.4 and it DOES read the titles.

Not sure why the Ubuntu Software center version is SO old!

Woodstock
Veteran User
Posts: 2540
Joined: Tue Aug 27, 2013 6:39 am

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by Woodstock » Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:44 am

It doesn't matter if Ubuntu were to use the latest version - they deliberately break the program by using "acceptable" (to Ubuntu) versions of certain libraries, rather than the versions handbrake needs. And they remove MP4 capability for political reasons. It is simply a broken build, and, if they continue to produce a broken build, they should simply remove it from the repository.

But the handbrake people have zero control over what happens on other people's servers.

User avatar
Rodeo
HandBrake Team
Posts: 11862
Joined: Tue Mar 03, 2009 8:55 pm

Re: Handbrake only finds one title

Post by Rodeo » Thu Dec 21, 2017 4:47 am

Well, we're no longer using mp4v2 for MP4 muxing, so I don't think they're removing MP4 muxing anymore?

Post Reply