Page 1 of 1

Support 10bit ???

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:02 am
by mrcrowley
I am Chakra Fermi and the version of Handbrake that I tried was 0.10.2.
Chakra's developers says that because of the fact that Handbrake doesn't support 10 bit, they must install x264-8bit packet that create conflict with other programs that require x264 (with 10bit).
So is it true that Handbrake can't use x264 with 10bit or not ???

Re: Support 10bit ???

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:21 am
by rollin_eng
Does this answer your question?

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=32859

Re: Support 10bit ???

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:30 am
by mrcrowley
So I guess that's right.
But there are no plans to implement 10 bit support ???

Re: Support 10bit ???

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:15 pm
by rollin_eng
Sorry, I read 265 instead of 264.

Re: Support 10bit ???

Posted: Thu Jan 07, 2016 12:48 pm
by rollin_eng
This might be more useful:
JohnAStebbins wrote:x264 10bit support through shared libs is now possible. HandBrake doesn't distributed the shared libs. You will have to find or build and install them yourself.

Since the x264 developers did not create an agreed upon naming convention for alternate-bit encoder libs, I've implemented a search for a variety of names. Fedora uses libx26410b, ubuntu uses /usr/lib/ARCH/x264-10bit/libx264.so.xxx (which is particularly annoying since you must use an absolute path to access it *and* try version numbers till you get lucky). I also search for libx264_main10 which is similar to the convention established by the x265 developers.

https://github.com/HandBrake/HandBrake/ ... d3d2bc710f

Re: Support 10bit ???

Posted: Sat Jan 09, 2016 2:31 am
by FallenSnow
Idk if it would actually work but you could try compiling HandBrake yourself and changing line 12 in contrib/x264/module.def from

Code: Select all

X264.CONFIGURE.extra  = --bit-depth=8 --chroma-format=420
to

Code: Select all

X264.CONFIGURE.extra  = --bit-depth=10 --chroma-format=420
This is similar to what I do for x265 in my encoding https://github.com/FallingSnow/h265ize# ... it-encodes. You would need to clone the github HandBrake repository rather than the svn.